Information About Joel - Durham tutor -
(6 reviews)

Profile Picture

Joel's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Joel:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £17.50
A-Level £17.50
University £20.00
Casual Learner £15.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £17.50
A-Level £17.50
University £20.00
Casual Learner £15.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £17.50
A-Level £17.50
Casual Learner £15.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
14 Plus £17.50
College £17.50
University £17.50

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
University £15.00
Casual Learner £15.00

Map Location

Map for Joel (Mr)


Personal Description:

I have just completed my Masters degree in Physics at the University of Leeds. Its a been a tough journey but I have managed to achieve the highest grade (1st class honours). During my studies at Leeds I completed a study abroad year in New York, Stony Brook University. Im now moving on to my PhD at Durham University and the University of Leeds

I'm a big believer that hard work gets results. I'd like to think I'm very nice and approachable and have a good knack of explaining complex ideologies in a simple manner.

I'm really into my extreme sports too such as wakeboarding and snowboarding which I do weekly in their respective societies within the univeristy of Leeds, I Captain of a 5-a-side football team which has won the league 3 years on the run, I'm a member of 1st XV Rugby team for my Faculty and a paid Undergraduate researcher for the School of Physics & Astronomy, Last but not least you'll often see me in musicals and plays around the university as I like to dabble with my fellow thespians when I can.

I was elected Vice President and Treasurer of my halls of residence in first year. The Treasurer of the Physics society in Second year and I have recently been re-elected again to this role in my forth year. Holding a Treasurer title for 3 of my 3 years in Leeds.

I have been the model student on co-curricular activities for the past 2 years running whereby a case study on myself has been sent to all prospective student of the university of leeds upon accept a place at the university.

Tutoring Experience:

- Entrance Exams for Oxbridge & Grammar Schools.
- English as a foreign Language.

University level
- Foundation Degree in Physics
- Foundation Degree in Material Science
- Foundation Degree in Engineering (mechanical and chemical)
- 1st and 2nd year Physics Masters
- 1st and 2nd year Chemistry Masters

- Maths
- Further Maths
- Physics
- Biology
- Drama

- Maths
- Statistics
- Physics
- Biology
- Chemistry
- Computing
- Business
- Drama

Tutoring Approach:

I like to understand the needs of the tutee first, what they need out of me and I'll try my hardest to meet that requirement. I often like to get past papers and work through them with the tutee. However, sometimes a more structured approach works best whereby I bring worksheets to compliment the work currently being achieved in school/college. These techniques offer opportunities to identify issues, as such, when we get stuck or something comes up that's been a struggle, we can then work on that element in more detail. This helps improve exam technique and working through tough problems on your own. However; I am willing to start wherever the tutee feels he/she needs to concentrate as I often find we know our own stronger and weaker sides to a subject best.

With me you not only get my physical time and attention for the hours you subscribe but also day to day advice and guidance on studying and help via electronic methods such as Skype. The way this works could be from updates on what you've been doing in school/college to allow me to tailor a tutoring session to your needs or from help to university applications right down to revision technique through the time I'm not with you.

I really like to build a good raport with my tutees and a good working relationship together - this is the optimal way to achieve both our targets! Don't forget, you're the boss, its your education be picky!


  • Durham University (2020) - Soft Matter Physics (Doctorate) (in progress)
  • University of Leeds (2016) - Physics (International) (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Leeds (2016) - Physics (International) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Durham Maths tutor, Durham Physics tutor, Durham Biology tutor, Durham Entrance Exams tutor, Durham Special Needs tutor, Durham English (Foreign Language) tutor, Durham GCSE Maths tutor, Durham A-Level Maths tutor, Durham University Maths tutor, Durham Casual Learner Maths tutor, Durham GCSE Physics tutor, Durham A-Level Physics tutor, Durham University Physics tutor, Durham Casual Learner Physics tutor, Durham GCSE Biology tutor, Durham A-Level Biology tutor, Durham Casual Learner Biology tutor, Durham GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Durham A-Level Entrance Exams tutor, Durham University Entrance Exams tutor, Durham GCSE Special Needs tutor, Durham A-Level Special Needs tutor, Durham University Special Needs tutor, Durham Casual Learner Special Needs tutor, Durham GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Durham A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Durham University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Durham Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor