Information About Joe - Ely tutor -
(16 reviews)

Profile Picture

Joe's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Joe:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £45.00
A-Level £50.00
Casual Learner £50.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £45.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £45.00


Hourly Rate
GCSE £45.00

Combined Science

Hourly Rate
GCSE £45.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
14 Plus £45.00

Map Location

Map for Joe (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am an A* achiever, who studied at the King's School and at Hills Road Sixth Form, Cambridge. I have a passion for Mathematics and a lot of experience with Science also.
I teach Maths and Science as a full time tutor so I spend a lot of time preparing lessons and materials to help the learner fully comprehend the subject material. I have a vast bank of resources and aids for all age groups which are all my own, which I have perfected through my experience.
I am very amicable person with a great rapport with children. I have many skills and techniques in teaching which make learning interesting, easy and most importantly, fun!
I was also part of the Army Cadet Force and taught many lessons to both younger and older cadets. I am a great leader and role model to any student.
I have a lot of experience with languages and I am fluent in English, German and French. I can teach in these languages if necessary.
I have been tutoring for over 5 years and unlike other tutors who tutor as a hobby or part time, I fully dedicate myself to the learner and spend more time and effort planning and preparing the lesson resources, handouts and homework.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught in various schools in Norwich and in Cambridge. I have privately taught to over 15 primary and secondary students, 50 GCSE students and over 20 A-Level students. I have experience in teaching all levels of school Maths including Level 1 and 2, Further Maths, QTS, Equivalency Testing, GRE, and CAA.
All of my students have exceeded their expectations and are 100% happy with the quality and price of the service I provided.

Tutoring Approach:

I teach people how I have been taught, and in a calm and approachable manner. I have been inspired by many of my teachers throughout my life and I feel that if you like a teacher, then you will like the subject. I am a very likeable person and I teach therefore in a friendly way and I make sure the learner fully understands how we arrive to the answer.

I have studied how people learn and to ensure the learner understands fully, I explain things in more than one way to suit the learning style because each person is individual and learns differently. I show the learner a variety of different methods to obtain the correct answer and I have many great ways to help them remember things like formulae using mnemonics and other techniques. I strive to make each lesson memorable to reinforce the knowledge. I create my own lessons and materials and configure them to how the learner would best understand, using Anagrams, Mnemonics, Rhymes and Memorable Ideas and more, as well as the use of PowerPoints and Games.

I also provide a free workbook that we will write formalised notes in after each topic has been gone over to make sure the knowledge is being comprehended in all angles of learning.

One of the most important things we would do together nearer exam times would be to study the exam Past Papers, exam skills and exam techniques. Doing past papers is really vital to get used to the exam layout and how to achieve the maximum marks for each question and to understand what the examiner is looking for.


  • Cottenham Village College (2013) - CRB Check (DBS) (School) (✔ On File)
  • Hills Road Sixth Form College, Cambridge (2012) - A Level: 3As: Maths, French German (College) (✔ On File)
  • King's School, Ely (2010) - GCSE: 7A*s: Maths, French, German, Science, Add. Science, Food Tech, ICT; 3As: Religious Studies, Media Studies, Business Studies; 1B: English (School) (✔ On File)
  • Army Cadet Force (2009) - Junior Cadet Instructor Course (Other) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: English (British), French, German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Ely Maths tutor, Ely Physics tutor, Ely Chemistry tutor, Ely Biology tutor, Ely Combined Science tutor, Ely Entrance Exams tutor, Ely GCSE Maths tutor, Ely A-Level Maths tutor, Ely Casual Learner Maths tutor, Ely GCSE Physics tutor, Ely GCSE Chemistry tutor, Ely GCSE Biology tutor, Ely GCSE Combined Science tutor, Ely GCSE Entrance Exams tutor