Matthew Joel

Matthew Joel

Leicester Tutor

I am 57years of age and live in Leicester. I am a Qualified Science Teacher having taught in a Secondary School.

I am married with 3 children, I have varied interests such as running, golf, writing,cooking and I like to think I have a good sense of humour.

Tutoring Experience

At present I tutor Science on a full time basis around Leicester and Leicestershire. I have been a private tutor for the past 12 years and teach A level Biology
I also have experience working with disadvantaged students such as Aspergers & Dyslexia

Tutoring Approach

As a tutor I believe that one to one teaching/learning can be a very effective method of achieving higher standards. I have found the great majority of my students have performed much better in exams after their confidence and knowledge have increased. I have a relaxed and friendly style of teaching and consistantly monitor/motivate the student, I use very effective methods to enable the student to grasp any difficult concepts, eventually concentrating on exam questions and technique.I have an extensive knowledge of all syllabuses.I help the student to take responsibility for their own learning and understand the best methods for learning ( such as mind maps) The great majority of my students have achieved results which have far exceeded their expectations.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Leicester2004PGCEPost Grad teaching Qualification
Open University2000BachelorsI have a degree in Biological Sciences 2/1 and Qualified Teacher Status (secondary school)

Matthew Joel's Feedback

Feedback
8
Published feedback
7
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)1
Matthew Joel
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Biology
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
Casual Learner£30
Combined Science
Secondary£30
GCSE£30