Skip to main content

Information About Joao - Peckham tutor

Profile Picture

Joao's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Joao:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £70.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £70.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £70.00
Secondary £70.00

Map Location

Map for Joao (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a highly specialised educator that focuses on developing the child's understanding of 'how to learn effectively'. Therefore, my commitment as a tutor/educator is to ensure that the child develops the necessary knowledge and skills to learn independently.

Besides tutoring, I am also a distributor of an educational technology **Removed By Admin**which assists with increasing the capacity to process information through learning vocabulary and the respective definitions at the highest rate possible. This translates in the child learning faster and retaining the information much more effectively - therefore increasing the attainment level. I use this technology in my tutoring sessions and this is one of the main reasons why I get such great results with my tutees in a short amount of time.

I also write **Removed By Admin**a blog on Education tailored for parents and teachers. I highly recommend that you download my free e-Books, namely the one called 'Connecting with my Child'. And if you had a child recently (or have a new baby in the family), **Removed By Admin**

You can get to know me by reading my blogs and e-Books. That being said, I am a very patient tutor. I have a great understanding of the learning process and the functioning of the mind. I have extensively studied psychology (albeit unofficially) and from it developed a good capacity to read what the child is experiencing or going through - and therefore I can quickly adapt my words, tonality, and behaviour to better assist the child to learn. I keep the sessions productive yet entertaining, for we always learn better when we are enjoying and having fun.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring since 2007, initially as a music tutor - and over the past 3 years dedicated to tutoring English and Math to primary level students and those with special needs, namely Specific Learning Difficulties (dyslexia, dyspraxia); Behavioural and Emotional Difficulties; and ADHD & ADD.

My greatest success as a tutor is to have successfully helped a 12 year old boy with severe dyslexia, dyspraxia, and mild autism to learn how to read in a period of 4 months. After attending 6 years in a state school and 2 in a special needs school, my tutee had only learned the alphabet when he first came to me. In the 4 months that we worked together twice a week, he had learned all the 'high frequency reception words' and 'high frequency words for years 1, 2 &3'.

Almost anyone is able to teach a 'sharp' and 'intelligent' child. The challenge lies in teaching those who have the greatest difficulties in learning.

Tutoring Approach:

An 'approach' by definition, is a coming together. I know and understand that learning is only possible when there is a 'connection' between the tutor and tutee. For this there must exist trust and respect between both parties. This is what I focus on initially: to create a relationship with the child. Whilst I develop a relationship with the child, I also probe on where the child's understanding is at, what are the cognitive capacities, the language and communication skills, emotional and feeling state, and social capacities.

Learning is a multi-dimensional process, and as such there are many factors that affect learning. I take all these points into consideration at all times to make sure my tutoring is the most effective possible.

More than providing knowledge in the for of math, reading, and writing - my main focus is on developing confidence, self-esteem, focus, discipline, dedication, drive, independence, and love of learning. With these skills your child is sure to achieve what he or she wants in life and be happy.

Qualifications:

  • Surrey University (2010) - Business (Music) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Surrey University (2007) - Music Performance (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: Portuguese
Additional Languages: English (British), Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Peckham Maths tutor, Peckham English tutor, Peckham Special Needs tutor, Peckham Primary Maths tutor, Peckham Primary English tutor, Peckham Primary Special Needs tutor, Peckham Secondary Special Needs tutor