Skip to main content

Information About Jessica - Peckham tutor

Profile Picture

Jessica's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Jessica:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Jessica offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£24.00
Secondary £30.00£24.00
GCSE £30.00£24.00
A-Level £30.00£24.00
University £30.00£24.00
Casual Learner £30.00£24.00

Map Location

Map for Jessica (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a published writer of fiction, poetry and journalism. Prevalent themes within my work are loneliness, alienation and the female experience. I am interested in the inter-disciplinary nature of art and have collaborated with illustrators, photographers, musicians and filmmakers on a number of projects. I perform my poetry at various events between London and Newcastle, and also co-run and edit online literary and arts magazine The Grapevine.

I recently published my first poetry collection Hinterland, in collaboration with photographer Keano Anton. The collection explores the complex emotional relationships we build with cities and the way that the connections we have with the people in them can shape our perceptions of spaces.

I am currently working on my first novel, which interrogates the notion as to what constitutes a fulfilling life. I run Literature and Creative Writing classes for adults and children across London. I have a place to begin my PhD in The Contemporary Novel at the University of Kent in September 2017.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring English Literature and Creative Writing, as well as English as a foreign language across a wide range of levels, since January 2015. I began teaching English while studying for my MA in Paris, to both adults and children. I currently have KS2, KS3, A-Level and some adult students. I teach on a one-to-one basis and in a classroom environment. I have a class of KS2 home-schooled children and was recently recruited by Chelsea Young Writers to lead Creative Writing workshops with KS2 children. I also run a bi-weekly Creative Writing workshop for adults to share their work.

Tutoring Approach:

I find that a lot of my students lack confidence initially, so I try to break everything down into terms that they understand and to break information down into digestible chunks. I truly believe that the best way to improve understanding and writing is through reading, and I take great pleasure in getting to know my students and suggesting books that I think they will enjoy. I have had some real successes with students who thought they did not like reading until they were introduced to engaging material. My classes are always interesting and informative, and I try to use examples from contexts outside of the school syllabus, in order to help my students to apply their knowledge to the world.

Qualifications:

  • University of Kent (2015) - MA Creative Writing (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • King's College London (2013) - BA English Literature and Language 2:1 (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Peckham English tutor, Peckham Primary English tutor, Peckham Secondary English tutor, Peckham GCSE English tutor, Peckham A-Level English tutor, Peckham University English tutor, Peckham Casual Learner English tutor