Information About James - Stockton-on-Tees tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

James's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated James:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £18.00
Casual Learner £16.00

Map Location

Map for James (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a Durham University undergraduate student studying Applied Psychology who has helped previous students achieve the best results they can to gain the best opportunities that they can. I have successfully tutored 4 students with all whom planned to go to university having done so. Their results have included an A in A-level (including full marks in an AS resit) and distinctions/merits in BTEC studies. I am an adaptable teacher and this helps me adapt to different needs or alternative approaches to learning. I'm dedicated in all that I get involved with and will even tutor modules that are new to me after having taught them to myself. This is a display of my commitment to those who I tutor.

Tutoring Experience:

I tutored four students in the previous year who underwent assessment and achieved the results they wanted and needed to carry on with their plans, for mos this was going to university. Results achieved included an A in A-level (including full marks in an AS resit) and distinctions/merits gained in BTEC assessments.
I adapted my approach and availability to the need of my students to maximise the effectiveness of the sessions i delivered and displayed my commitment by teaching modules and working with new exam boards by conducting effective research.

I have taught numerous sessions as an introduction to A-Level psychology for year 11's (on the topics of phobia's and fear, social influence and gender) when they came for a taster day at my college. I used various techniques to teach in these sessions and had to adapt to the varying personalities of the students in the class.

In a one to one environment I have helped peers understand theories and studies which they did not previously by simplifying the study or helping them look at it from another angle that may make it more understandable for them. If my friends had any questions about the subject then they would often come to me for the answers as they said i explained the reasoning and topic well.

Tutoring Approach:

My method for tutoring is to identify your needs first. We would figure out your strengths and weaknesses and work to improve them and bring them to a balanced level. It's up to you as the tutee if you would like to work through a particular syllabus or if you would just like to work through particular topics that you are struggling to grasp or understand to the depth that you feel is necessary. I tailor my techniques and methods to how you feel you learn best but will encourage completing past papers and questions in order to apply what I have been teaching.


  • Durham University (2018) - Applied Psychology (Bachelors) (in progress)
  • Bury College (2015) - Psychology (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Stockton-on-Tees Psychology tutor, Stockton-on-Tees GCSE Psychology tutor, Stockton-on-Tees A-Level Psychology tutor, Stockton-on-Tees Casual Learner Psychology tutor