Skip to main content

Information About James - Highbury tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

James's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated James:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

James offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00
Casual Learner £15.00

Map Location

Map for James (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

Expert tuition from a Doctor of Engineering; I have a passion for mathematics and the successful teaching of the subject. I have taught mathematics and physics on a wide variety of platforms for over three years and have a proven teaching track record.

I have also helped struggling friends and colleagues improve their understanding of the core mathematical principles which has helped their overall understanding of engineering and the core principles behind it.

I have over five years’ industrial experience, working across a commercial, research and development setting at a multinational chemicals and materials company. I use my mathematical expertise daily to succeed in my job.

I have experience teaching mathematics from Primary School through to Degree Level and have a solid background in the subject.

Tutoring Experience:

To help fund my undergraduate and postgraduate studies, I was a personal tutor for four A-Level students. All four students exceeded their predicted A-Level grades and I received excellent feedback. I have also helped my younger brothers and their friends with both GCSE and A-Level mathematics exams.

During my postgraduate studies, I helped out with undergraduate revision classes and helped a number of first year students fulfill their potential.

In 2008, after graduating with a mathematics degree, I spent six months in a secondary school, teaching mathematics to both full classes and small groups.

In the past two years, I have visited a number of secondary schools and helped out with after school revision clubs.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to make learning as interactive as possible, setting challenging yet rewarding tasks during all lessons. Also, I like to get to know each pupil individually and tailor my lessons accordingly.

Each lesson that I give is planned in great detail which has helped my previous pupils achieve excellent results. I like to convey my passion for mathematics when teaching it and many previous clients have gone on to study this subject at degree level.

Detailed teaching reference are available on request.

Qualifications:

  • University of Birmingham (2015) - EngD Formulation Engineering (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • The University of Manchester (2010) - MSc Fluid Dynamics (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • The University of Manchester (2008) - BSc Mathematics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Highbury Maths tutor, Highbury Primary Maths tutor, Highbury Secondary Maths tutor, Highbury GCSE Maths tutor, Highbury Casual Learner Maths tutor