Information About James - Highbury tutor

Profile Picture

James's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated James:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £50.00
Secondary £50.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Map Location

Map for James (Mr)


Personal Description:

I started my degree at Oxford University in 2012 and have recently graduated with an MMath in Mathematics. Before this, I went to Highgate School in North London where I studied Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Russian at A-Level, achieving A*A*A*A respectively. I also achieved 10 A*s at GCSE in Maths, English Language, English Literature, Physics, Biology, Chemistry, Latin, History, Russian and French.

I'm very enthusiastic about education and am actually teaching myself several programming languages this year.

Outside academia, my interests include stand-up comedy, rugby and travelling - I spent my gap year travelling around South America for 4 months.

Tutoring Experience:

I first started tutoring Maths in the Sixth Form to GCSE students at Highgate. I have since taught Maths at various levels including preparing candidates for Oxford and Cambridge interviews and admission tests.

On my gap year, I also worked as an assistant science technician at Highgate and therefore have experience with helping pupils of all ages.

Tutoring Approach:

Maths is the subject in which I believe students benefit the most from one-to-one tuition. Everyone understands the concepts and progresses at a different rate. That is why I try to make my tuition approach as tailored as possible to each student I teach. Some students will need to have the intuition behind a concept explained to them first, others will benefit more from being shown the method and repeating the process several times before having the intuition explained. For this reason, my first aim is always to assess the student and figure out which teaching method will work best.

Another key aim of my tutoring approach is to build a student's confidence. As a tutor cannot be present during their exams, it's vital that the student is comfortable performing Maths on their own and this requires confidence in their own abilities.

I'm approachable, organised and patient which I believe to be key qualities for a good tutor. My timetable is also very flexible.


  • University of Oxford (2016) - Mathematics (Masters) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Highbury Maths tutor, Highbury Primary Maths tutor, Highbury Secondary Maths tutor, Highbury GCSE Maths tutor, Highbury A-Level Maths tutor, Highbury University Maths tutor, Highbury Casual Learner Maths tutor