Information About James - Newcastle tutor

Profile Picture

James's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated James:





Subjects Taught

James offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £12.00£9.60

Map Location

Map for James (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a native French speaker having grown up in Bordeaux and in Grenoble before moving to England to begin my university studies. I undertook the Baccalauréat Littéraire and I studied French as part of my university degree, with an emphasis on Legal French.
I also took part in several interpretation and translating modules at university and was examined on those.

Tutoring Experience:

I have limited teaching experience, my only formal teaching experience is taking a group of Medical students through some medical French exercises for the Friends of Médecins Sans Frontieres society at Newcastle University.

I am a native speaker and regularly correspond with my old school friends in French. I have also got more formal French education, as mentioned above. The interpretation modules and legal French modules have helped me develop a more technical knowledge of French which may be suitable for some people.

Tutoring Approach:

I aim to mainly reinforce people's confidence in speaking French. This starts by helping them with the pronunciation of French words, which I have found to be something that French people are very particular about. This approach also allows tutees to expand their vocabulary faster as it will be easier to pronounce the words. We can then progress onto more technical issues such as grammar. I would say my style is more suitable for people looking to learn more conversational French rather than anyone wanting to learn more difficult aspects of the language.


  • Newcastle University (2013) - BA Law and French (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Lycée Stendhal, Grenoble, France (2008) - Baccalaureat de France (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • College Barnave, Saint-Egreve, France (2005) - Brevet des Colleges (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: French
Additional Languages: English (British), German, Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Newcastle French tutor, Newcastle Casual Learner French tutor