Skip to main content

Information About James - Bootle tutor

Profile Picture

James's profile picture

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00
Secondary £18.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00

Combined Science

Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00
Secondary £18.00

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00
Secondary £18.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for James (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I have a wide range of interests and hobbies; these include reading for pleasure, cooking, arts including theatre (modern and classic), cinema, and coffee and conversation. One of my main interests is travelling and sight seeing I have been fortunate enough to travel to many countries including the US (several states), Egypt, Kenya and various European cities. I thoroughly enjoy meeting new people, experiencing new cultures and seeing the sights.

In addition to these areas of interest I enjoy online gaming, I am an active member of the “City of Heroes” MMORPG, organizing events and meets in the online community.

Another passion I have in life is Crystal Therapy. Last year I qualified as a Crystal Therapists and have been practicing in Nairobi. I have an average sized client base which I see after school and during the weekends. I am currently pursuing a qualification in Colour Therapy and I am hoping to integrate this into my practice.

Tutoring Experience:

I qualified from Liverpool Hope University in 2004 after successfully completing a BEd (Hons) degree in Primary Education, Advanced Study in Early Years. I have taught within Barlows Primary School, Hope Valley Primary School and currently teach at Braeburn Garden Estate, Nairobi, Kenya. I am the Deputy Head Teacher, I have responsibility for Assessment and Curriculum across the school, I am the lead for Performance Management and Self Evaluation.

During my teaching career I have been fortunate to work in several different types of school and have experience of children of all backgrounds and ages. I have taught children aged three to thirteen. My expertise does lie in the three to eight age range; however I am more than happy to work with children aged ten and over.

Warm, friendly and caring… these three words sum up my character. I am an approachable, warm, considerate and friendly person who gets along with all types of people and ages. These qualities enable me to form effective working relationships. I establish firm boundaries in which all children can achieve and thrive. I feel my infectious enthusiasm and well organised approach to learning will compliment you and your family.

Tutoring Approach:

During my initial visit I will speak to the parents/carers to gain a picture of the whole child including strengths and areas for development. I will agree some short term targets to ensure that we can measure your child's progress. After a discussion with the parents/carers I will then chat to the child and gain their ideas/thoughts.

I use a variety of resources when I tutor these include textbooks, worksheets, open ended problem solving activities, computers and iPads. I am more than willing to set additional homework if required.

Qualifications:

  • Liverpool Hope (2004) - Primary Education with ASEY (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Bootle Maths tutor, Bootle English tutor, Bootle Combined Science tutor, Bootle Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Bootle Primary Maths tutor, Bootle Secondary Maths tutor, Bootle Primary English tutor, Bootle Primary Combined Science tutor, Bootle Secondary Combined Science tutor, Bootle Primary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Bootle Secondary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Bootle Casual Learner Computer Studies / I.T. tutor