Jackie

Jackie

Musselburgh Tutor

I come from a mathematical background. I have worked as a maths teacher for 7.5 years in England both in a girls' school and a mixed boarding school. I also have a doctorate in Mathematics and I am a qualified actuary. As an actuary, I worked in a large insurance company in Edinburgh and also on a self-employed basis at home.

In addition to being a maths tutor, I work part-time as a complementary therapist and I am qualified in and practise four therapies.

Tutoring Experience

I have taught in the following two schools:

St David School For Girls, Ashford Middlesex– I taught Mathematics at this school for 3.5 years to pupils aged 12 to 18.
Christ’s Hospital School, Horsham, West Sussex– I was a Mathematics teacher for four years at this boarding school. I taught pupils aged 12 to 18 up to Further Mathematics and Oxbridge Level. I was also an Assistant Boarding House Mistress and was responsible for groups of pupils carrying out Voluntary Work

Tutoring Approach

I am a patient, approachable and caring tutor and my aim is to get the best out of my tutees. I will tailor the tutorial to fit the tutee and try different approaches to help them master the subject.

I love being a tutor and the interaction that I have with my students. It is wonderful to see their knowledge, confidence and ability improve.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Exeter University1977BachelorsBSc in Mathematics (1st Class Honours) from Exeter University
Oxford University1978MastersMSc in Mathematics from Oxford University
Oxford University1981DoctorateDoctorate in Mathematics (DPhil) from Oxford University

Jackie's Feedback

Feedback
9
Published feedback
9
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Jackie
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
GCSE£30
A-Level£30
Casual Learner£30