Skip to main content

Information About Howard - Hampton tutor -

Profile Picture

Howard's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Howard:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am new to tutoring, but have been encouraged to take it up as a result of helping my two sons with their GCSE subjects, especially maths.

I work as an IT Business Analyst and continue to have a continuing interest in mathematics and science topics. I continue to be amazed by the work being done in both these subject ares and hope my enthusiasm comes across!

Tutoring Experience:

Although I have no formal teaching experience, I have tutored small groups of student consisting of my sons and their friends.

Tutoring Approach:

Rather than take a generic approach to tutoring the curriculum, I like to take a tailored approach in which the student describes the areas they need help with and we focus in on those. I believe that tackling problems is better than rote learning and I encourage and support the student to come to their own conclusions about the topics they are studying.

Teaching is not just about the curriculum. It's also about inspiring students to discover things about their subject that go beyond this.

My sons are 17 and 15, so I am very used to interacting with children of secondary school age. Additionally, I get great enjoyment out of tutoring adult learners.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Manchester (1992) - Cognitive Science (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Exeter (1990) - Mathematics and Theoretical Physics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Hampton Maths tutor, Hampton Physics tutor, Hampton Secondary Maths tutor, Hampton GCSE Maths tutor, Hampton Secondary Physics tutor, Hampton GCSE Physics tutor