Holly

Holly

Hello,
I am a science teacher at a local Southend school, specialising in Biology/natural sciences. I am patient, approachable and I have a massive passion for anything science!

Tutoring Experience

I qualified from Southend initial teacher training in 2014 with a PGCE in secondary education (science). During my training I worked in two Southend schools (comprehensive and grammar).
I am now a qualified science teacher,still teaching in Southend, teaching to a huge range of ability. I have lots of experience with tutoring students (1-to-1, small groups, SEND students and home school students) both inside and outside of school time to a range of exam boards and target levels.
I am also working with year 5 and 6 students in the southend area, broadening their interest in STEAM subjects (science, technology, engineering, art and maths).

Tutoring Approach

KS2/KS3
My approach is to build confidence and teach the student new ways to enhance their own learning. I also hope to build enthusiasm for the subject. I will always start tutoring sessions with a subject audit to really understand the main issues they are facing. We will work through together small sections at a time, slowly building up the grade they are working at and also the level of support needed to answer the exam style questions. I recommend a 1 hour sessions with 11-14 year olds. Additional students are welcome!

KS4
I have lots of experience teaching GCSE qualifications especially the new tricky 2016 Edexcel course (Biology) and 2016 AQA course (biology).
I have also catered for entry level qualifications and Eton independent school entrance exams. I am always happy to cater for new qualifications.

With GCSE students (yr 9, 10 and 11) I will always start with a subject audit to identify areas of strength and weakness. I will also spend time to identify the students preferred learning style. Ultimately, myself and the student will be aiming to complete GCSE past papers with confidence. However, I will ensure we work up to this first by teaching areas of difficulty and focusing on finding what really works for the student. I will use a range of resources to help the student.

I live in Leigh on sea and have a calm space to complete tuition. You are welcome to stay for the first session if you feel necessary. I teach full time so tuition will only be available after my work hours which on occasion may have to change as school commitments may also.

I am happy to cater for small groups with a £5 additional charge for each student for extra resources.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Holly

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Kent2013BachelorsBiological Anthropology
Canterbury Christ Church University2015PGCESETSA SCITT Secondary Education (science)

Holly's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Holly
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism