Information About Hilary - Shipley tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Hilary's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Hilary:





Subjects Taught

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £23.00
Secondary £23.00
Casual Learner £23.00

Map Location

Map for Hilary (Ms)


Personal Description:

I live on my own in Shipley, as my four children are now grown up and living in the south of England. My interests are in music, theatre, cinema, reading and travel. I have been educating myself for most of my life since I left secretarial college at 16. I first started teaching as a private tutor to two Turkish boys when I was 21. I have had a varied career in administration, teaching, and school librarianship, I have also been a founder and director of an arts association in Wales. I am always totally committed to anything I take on, and my teaching is exception.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been an English tutor since I qualified in 1996 although, as stated above, I did do one year of teaching in Turkey before I was qualified in TESOL. I have also taught as a secondary school teacher for a year, and I taught more informally in a school **Contact Detail Removed**, teaching reading and information skills. I organised book, poetry and writing workshops also. Since moving to Yorkshire, I have been working as a supply teacher and one-to-one tutor in secondary schools.

Tutoring Approach:

I enjoy seeking out innovative methods of teaching so that I can best put across what I am teaching. In fact, one of my methods of teaching sentences has been adopted as a whole school policy in a school in Kent. Since qualifying as an ESOL teacher, I like to introduce ESOL methodology in creating original materials. I like to specialise in English basic skills as I feel it is so important that these are learnt thoroughly before children enter KS4 at school. I give feedback to parents after each session, via a feedback form. I provide a free taster session of 30 minutes, so that child and parents are able to feel comfortable that they have made the right decision in choosing me. In addition, I like to meet the child beforehand for 30 minutes so that I can make my assessment and plan accordingly. In addition to one to one sessions, I also run learning circles - small groups of 3 to 5 students learning and sharing ideas together.


  • Language Project, Bristol (2009) - Trinity TESOL Certificate (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Uni. of Wales, Aberystwyth (2006) - PGCE Secondary (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Uni. of Wales, Lampeter (1990) - BA (Hons) English (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Shipley English (Foreign Language) tutor, Shipley Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Shipley Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Shipley Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor