Information About Henry - Kenilworth tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Henry's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Henry:





Subjects Taught


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £10.00£8.00
GCSE £10.00£8.00
A-Level £10.00£8.00
Casual Learner £10.00£8.00

Map Location

Map for Henry (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a Maths graduate from the University of Warwick with a passion for learning and teaching. Throughout this past academic year, which was my final year at University, I have been tutoring maths to many GCSE and A level students while working with the University's further maths department which mainly teaches further maths A level and STEP (The exam required for the top universities if applying for maths) and I have gained a invaluable insight into how teaching mathematics should be. In 2014, I first went to South Africa to teach for 6 weeks and that experience was when I knew teaching was my passion. Since then I have been a huge part of the Warwick in Africa charity which is the organisation which helped to send me to South Africa. I went back again in 2015 and intend to go back in 2017. From an early age I have always thought learning and teaching are fundamental to happiness in life and it is our purpose to learn from those around us and continue this by teaching. This being said I was not sure if a career in teaching was for me. After going to Africa twice and tutoring over this last year, I now know that teaching is my passion and so I am excited to say that this year I am going to continue to work with the University's department alongside tutoring full-time.

I completed 16 modules at A level with an average of >95% ums, achieving 100 ums in most of the Core, Further Pure and Mechanics modules. I also have experience in the STEP 1, 2 and 3 papers for anyone applying to University with STEP requirements. I have always had a love for maths and since joining University I have become extremely passionate about teaching too. I am very flexible with when I am available and I am more than happy to drive.

(A list of the MEI A level modules are C1, C2, C3, C4, FP1, FP2, FP3, M1, M2, M3, S1, S2, S3, NM, D1 and DE)

Tutoring Experience:

I got involved with the Warwick in Schools program where I was placed in a local school for one term where I helped out and taught a few lessons. This inspired me to then sign up for the Warwick in Africa program where I taught in a school in the Alexandria township in Johannesburg for 6 weeks during 2014 as a full-time teacher. I then went back to South Africa in 2015 to teach for another 6 weeks but in a different school in the Soweto township. I have become extremely passionate about teaching since joining University and I am now pursuing a career in teaching, applying for the Teach First program and PGCEs across the top Universities. I have helped many friends over my time in education and this sparked the idea of tutoring. I have been tutoring maths over the past academic year alongside my final year at University. I also worked with the Warwick further maths department which mainly teaches A level further maths and STEP (The exam required for the top universities if applying for maths) to students who can get themselves to Warwick for the sessions. All of these experiences have inspired me to apply for teaching and to tutor full-time this year while continuing to work at the University of Warwick's further maths department.

Tutoring Approach:

All my life I have had inspiring maths teachers and I believe this is why I have excelled at maths and I want to give that back to others in the same way. I have Dyslexia and so I have struggled with certain other subjects however the teachers which were passionate about their subjects filled me with passion and helped me to achieve higher marks than I thought possible. I know that you can not understand something immediately or even quickly most of the time. Learning mathematics is different for most people but the most important aspect is to enjoy the subject and to not feel rushed. Mathematics should not be a chore which sadly I have seen many students make it, I believe I can make the subject enjoyable which is key to becoming motivated. I believe the main reasons students do not achieve their own personal goals is through a lack of self-belief and enjoyment in the subject. I hope to give students these qualities so that they can succeed.


  • University of Warwick (2016) - BSc Mathematics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • King Henry VIII secondary school (2012) - A* A level in mathematics, further mathematics and further additional mathematics (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • King Henry VIII secondary school (2012) - Grade 2 in step III, Grade 3 in step II (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • King Henry VIII secondary school (2010) - 11 GCSEs including A* Mathematics (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Kenilworth Maths tutor, Kenilworth Secondary Maths tutor, Kenilworth GCSE Maths tutor, Kenilworth A-Level Maths tutor, Kenilworth Casual Learner Maths tutor