Information About Henry - Sevenoaks tutor

Profile Picture

Henry's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Henry:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00
University £35.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £40.00
University £35.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
13 Plus £30.00
College £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Henry (Mr)


Personal Description:

After finding my passion for languages at A-Level, I went on to study Spanish and Italian at Exeter University. University gave me the opportunity to have a year abroad to improve my languages. I spent the majority of my year in Florence teaching English at a secondary school and then the final part of my year tutoring English in Spain. It was here that I found I could explore my enthusiasm for language further through teaching. Upon graduating I broadened my horizons with an internship at Shakespeare's Globe before concentrating once more on tutoring, which I have focused on since.

Tutoring Experience:

Preparation for Common Entrance Examination (2011-15)

Predominantly in Spanish, I gave extra tuition to a boy at preparatory school who was struggling with his confidence in both essay writing as well as the Spanish language. Through studying the Spanish language creatively and building strategies in how to approach essays with good structure his confidence increased dramatically. In June 2015 he obtained the grades he needed for entry to his independent public secondary school, including grade A in his Spanish. Since starting at Eastbourne College, contact has been maintained with both the parents and the tutee to give advice and ensure a successful first year.

Live-In English Language Tutor in Olot, Spain (July 2014)

A month’s live-in tutor experience where I was required to give daily lessons in English Language and offer daily conversation in English to engage and enthuse an otherwise reluctant 11-year-old boy. While the tutee was unwilling to learn, through creative lessons adapted to his interests his enthusiasm grew. I devised whole days based on one topic of conversation and ensured that this formed the basis of that day’s lesson also. Through this the tutee saw more purpose in his learning and therefore engaged more and was more passionate about learning English.

English Tuition in Florence, Italy (2014)

Alongside my teaching in Italy I provided tuition in English for several adult clients from beginners to those who wished to improve their existing level of English through simple conversation. Conversation lessons were well structured in order to give maximum benefit to the time given while beginners were able to speak with basic grammar after only a few lessons.

English Teacher at Liceo Artistico ‘Leon Battista Alberti’ in Florence, Italy (**Telephone Number Removed** With the official title of ‘Assistente della Lingua Inglese’ this was a British Council placement where I taught Italian students (aged 11-19) English. The lessons comprised of teaching the English language as well as English literature and British history. Towards the end of the placement attention was more focussed on those in their final two years in helping prepare them for their Maturità exams (equivalent to the British A Level) as well as for interviews for entry to academies and universities around Europe.
Given some students were struggling with their language learning, I set up a workshop out of school hours for them to come and focus on the areas they found particularly difficult. This proved extremely successful in building pupils’ confidence.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to think that learning isn't just for an exam, but rather for life more generally. And this is what I like to focus on in my lessons- ensuring that the study is going to be used both inside and outside the classroom.

I look to engage his students enthusiastically and creatively, according to their personal interests and experiences, in order to incite a sense of confidence, ambition and a passion for learning. Through my various teaching experiences I have found that each tutee requires a unique style of tutoring. Many of my secondary school students in Italy, for example, required a more rigid style of teaching while to encourage my tutee in Spain I adopted more creative and kinaesthetic ways of teaching through which we saw a great improvement in his English, which gave us both great reward.


  • University of Exeter (2015) - Spanish and Italian with Distinction in Spoken Italian (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Tonbridge School (2011) - A Level (Spanish, English Literature, History, Religious Studies, All at Grade A) (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Italian, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Sevenoaks English tutor, Sevenoaks Italian tutor, Sevenoaks Spanish tutor, Sevenoaks Entrance Exams tutor, Sevenoaks English (Foreign Language) tutor, Sevenoaks Secondary English tutor, Sevenoaks GCSE English tutor, Sevenoaks Secondary Italian tutor, Sevenoaks GCSE Italian tutor, Sevenoaks A-Level Italian tutor, Sevenoaks University Italian tutor, Sevenoaks Secondary Spanish tutor, Sevenoaks GCSE Spanish tutor, Sevenoaks A-Level Spanish tutor, Sevenoaks University Spanish tutor, Sevenoaks Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Sevenoaks A-Level Entrance Exams tutor, Sevenoaks Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Sevenoaks GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Sevenoaks A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor