Information About Helene - Liskeard tutor

Profile Picture

Helene's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Helene:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Helene (Mrs)


Personal Description:

My background is a very holistic one; I was a beauty therapist for 13 years before I went into teaching. Due to this career I became very interested in holistic education and inclusive practice and this is therefore my professional ethos to this day. I am a qualified teacher and dyslexia specialist; I hold specialist teaching qualifications in this area and also a BA (Hons) in education and training. In addition to this I am a qualified counsellor and am in the process of gaining a Master of Education postgraduate degree.

Tutoring Experience:

I have successful teaching experience in specialist dyslexia support, study skills, literacy and ICT. I have extensive experience working in both FE and HE institutions. I feel the majority of my work related achievements are in enabling students to become autonomous learners and also in re-engaging many disaffected learners in such a way that they have gone on to complete their educational course and in some cases gain employment. I have had much success in working with challenging students. Also due to my teaching in FE, HE and community learning, I have gained much and varied experience of delivering innovative and interesting teaching strategies. I have taught learners from the age ranges of 14 to 83!

Tutoring Approach:

As a dyslexia specialist and mental health mentor I have a good and broad understanding of many mental health issues and Specific Learning Difficulties. As well as being an assessor, I am also a qualified Internal Verifier so have a structured approach to tutoring the individual and meeting their needs. As an academic student I have experience of research, publications and presentations. During my BA I went to India to study comparative education and also researched and completed a module on managing education in times of change. Both commercially, as a counsellor and in an educative institution, I have worked to create relationships and work collaboratively with students, parents and other professionals, often finding creative and unique solutions in order to support the strategic needs of the individual and the wellbeing of the student. I have always worked in a situation that has required excellent customer service and communication, student satisfaction, feedback and evaluative records.

My areas of expertise are in literacy, study skills, dyslexia support and wellbeing in a tutoring, advisory and facilitators role. Due to working extensively with disengaged, challenging and disabled students, I am aware of the importance in supporting all students in the development of successful learning experiences. In addition, due to employment expectations and my own personal study, I know I am able to produce and publish paper-based and online learning development resources to ensure a positive student experience. I am confident in my tutoring and managerial abilities in prioritising learning development and associated cross functional projects, allocating resources and delegating tasks to support the strategic needs of learning support and wellbeing; as well as the overall student experience.

During my time in an educative role I have learnt to develop processes, procedures, policies and practices in order to support individual needs. In addition, I have always been expected to contribute to continuous improvement in promoting all aspects of my job role in order to broaden the student experience.


  • University of Plymouth (2012) - MEd (still studying) (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • OCR (2008) - Dip RSA, Teaching students with dyslexia (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Plymouth (2008) - 2:1 BA (Hons) Education and Training (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Plymouth (2005) - Certificate in Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Liskeard English tutor, Liskeard Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Liskeard Special Needs tutor, Liskeard Study Skills tutor, Liskeard University English tutor, Liskeard Casual Learner English tutor, Liskeard Secondary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Liskeard Casual Learner Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Liskeard Secondary Special Needs tutor, Liskeard GCSE Special Needs tutor, Liskeard A-Level Special Needs tutor, Liskeard University Special Needs tutor, Liskeard Casual Learner Special Needs tutor, Liskeard Secondary Study Skills tutor, Liskeard GCSE Study Skills tutor, Liskeard A-Level Study Skills tutor, Liskeard University Study Skills tutor, Liskeard Casual Learner Study Skills tutor