Skip to main content

Information About Helen - Nantwich tutor -
(2 reviews)

References

This is how 2 referees rated Helen:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £40.00

Law

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £45.00
Casual Learner £45.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £45.00
Casual Learner £45.00

Map Location

Map for Helen (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a law and maths tutor who has successfully taught a large number of students over the years. I have tutored students who require that extra one-to-one help to pass their exams as well as those who are hoping for the highest grades.

My background is that I am a qualified barrister who practised for a number of years before going on maternity leave. I practised in a variety of areas of law at first, specialising in criminal work towards the end.

I now work part time as a private tutor, an Examiner of the Court (taking depositions), a member of the Audit and Ethics Committee of Cheshire Constabulary, an exam invigilator and a lay member of the Mersey Deanery.

Tutoring Experience:

I hold an enhanced DBS certificate.

In 2010 I passed the Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector course.
Since then I have established myself as a private tutor and have tutored students in both law and maths.

With regard to law, I have taught those studying for AS-Level law, A-Level law, a law degree, CILEx and the Graduate Diploma in Law.
I have taught a variety of subjects within law, including land law, contract law, public law (adminstrative and constitutional), equity and trusts, human rights, crime and tort.

As to maths, having achieved an A at A-Level maths and a B at A-Level further maths I decided to combine my maths and teaching skills. I tutor teenagers to whichever level of maths they require. Additionally, I have taught maths to my own children throughout primary school and up to Level 8 and GCSE. I am equally at ease teaching younger children or teenagers.

Within my tutoring I teach study skills as well as reading and writing skills, and, as a mother of three children who are at primary and secondary school I have experience of teaching such skills to a range of children.

Tutoring Approach:

I firmly believe that every learner is an individual who learns at his/her own pace and in his/her own way. As such, I take time to get to know my tutees and devise lesson plans according to their particular requirements.
I am a friendly, approachable individual who is enthusiastic about the law and maths, and keen to pass that knowledge on to tutees.
The feedback from my current tutees has been, and continues to be, very positive.

Qualifications:

  • South Cheshire College (2010) - Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (College) (✔ On File)
  • Inns of Court School of Law (1996) - Bar Vocational Course (very competent) (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Oxford University (1995) - Law Degree (2:1) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Neston County High School (1992) - A-Level English (A), French (A), Maths (A) and Further Maths (B) (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Nantwich Maths tutor, Nantwich Law tutor, Nantwich Study Skills tutor, Nantwich Secondary Maths tutor, Nantwich GCSE Maths tutor, Nantwich GCSE Law tutor, Nantwich A-Level Law tutor, Nantwich University Law tutor, Nantwich Casual Learner Law tutor, Nantwich Secondary Study Skills tutor, Nantwich GCSE Study Skills tutor, Nantwich A-Level Study Skills tutor, Nantwich University Study Skills tutor, Nantwich Casual Learner Study Skills tutor