Skip to main content

Information About Helen - Knottingley tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Helen's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Helen:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £22.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £22.00
GCSE £25.00

Combined Science

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £22.00
GCSE £25.00

Sociology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £26.00

Map Location

Map for Helen (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a young, female primary school teacher in the Doncaster/Wakefield area. Aside from my enthusiasm for teaching and helping children to achieve, I am interested in academic areas including sociology and languages. I enjoy travel and reading. I have worked voluntarily as a teaching assistant and completed a degree in Sociology before training to be a teacher. I now work as a supply teacher at primary level and as a personal tutor to primary and secondary level children. I hold an enhanced DBS check dated September 2015.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a qualified primary school teacher who has taught classes of all ages at primary level. As a supply teacher, I have worked in many different schools and, as such, I develop positive relationships very quickly with both children and adults. I enjoy working with individuals and small groups in academic tasks and find that children are very responsive to this lower teacher-pupil ratio. I have found that working in these situations really helps to boost children's concentration and confidence in their work. They also feel more comfortable to ask questions in areas they find difficult. When tutoring, I am to create a positive, friendly and professional relationship where children feel comfortable with what they are learning, but also feel they can ask for help when required.

Tutoring Approach:

I recognise that children learn in many different ways - some by seeing and visualising, some by talking and discussing, and some by doing a physical or mental activity. I aim to tutor children using the learning style that best suits them. In a classroom, it is often difficult to meet the needs of every child. Personal tuition provides children with valuable one-to-one time, where the focus is on them and them alone. I believe that personal tuition does much to increase achievement in those weaker areas, but also serves to challenge and develop knowledge in stronger areas. Following a free initial consultation, I provide personalised programmes of study tailored exactly to meet the needs of the child involved. I am passionate about helping children to reach their full potential and will do all I can to make this happen. Sessions take place in the child's own home and are arranged on a flexible basis with parent or guardian. I can provide tuition from 30 minutes per week to more intensive programmes consisting of several hours per week in the school holidays.

Qualifications:

  • Leeds Metropolitan University (2010) - Primary Education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Leeds Metropolitan University (2008) - Sociology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Knottingley Maths tutor, Knottingley English tutor, Knottingley Combined Science tutor, Knottingley French tutor, Knottingley Sociology tutor, Knottingley Primary Maths tutor, Knottingley Secondary Maths tutor, Knottingley Primary English tutor, Knottingley Secondary English tutor, Knottingley GCSE English tutor, Knottingley Primary Combined Science tutor, Knottingley Primary French tutor, Knottingley Secondary French tutor, Knottingley GCSE French tutor, Knottingley GCSE Sociology tutor