Skip to main content

Information About Helen - Oxford tutor

Profile Picture

Helen's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Helen:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £45.00
GCSE £50.00
A-Level £50.00
Casual Learner £50.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £50.00

Map Location

Map for Helen (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a lively, enthusiastic and professional English teacher with a PGCE from the University of Cambridge, a First Class BA (Hons) degree in English Studies from Nottingham University and over ten years of 11-18 teaching experience. I am currently teaching at a top GDST school in North London where I support students of all abilities. I have also tutored for the 11+ exams with excellent results and have entrance interview experience. I and am deeply passionate about my subject and helping others to understand it better. I particularly enjoy 1-1 tuition as it is so rewarding to give personal, directed feedback to a student in order to meet their individual needs and to see them progress further in their studies.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught in a wide range of contexts. My first teaching post was as an English teacher for KS3, GCSE and A-Level (11-18) at a state school in Hertfordshire, where I also taught Media Studies, RE and Drama. I then worked at an International School in Tanzania for a year, again with KS3, IGCSE and A-Level students, many of whom had English as a Second Language. I have now worked in London at a top girls' day school for five years as an English teacher, again teaching the same levels and also running a Creative Writing Club. I have also taught on a CELTA course and took a summer school in EFL in Poland. I enjoy both whole class and individual teaching and tutoring. Through these experiences I have developed sound understanding of many different exam boards and courses, including EDEXCEL and WJEC at A-Level and OCR, CIE and EDEXCEL at GCSE/ IGCSE. I have written and developed many schemes of work to accompany these courses that deal directly with the assessment objectives and ensure high results for my students. I have mentored new teachers and worked with Hertfordshire LEA as part of their NQT induction programme.

Tutoring Approach:

I am always keen to get to know a student and identify their main needs, strengths and passions. I like to work in a friendly but focused environment, in which I set high standards and expect good preparation from my students. I ensure that my students understand the requirements of their course and will use mark schemes and individual target sheets to help them progress and learn to self-assess, so that both they and I can identify key areas for development. I love my lessons/sessions to be fun and enjoyable, and use a range of media and visual stimulus where appropriate. My marking is detailed and individually tailored to help students work on specific targets to achieve success. My students know that I am approachable and that I value their questions and who they are.

Qualifications:

  • The University of Cambridge (2005) - PGCE (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • The University of Nottingham (2004) - First class BA (Hons) English Studies (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Nottingham Trent University (2003) - CELTA (Other) (✔ On File)
  • St. Mary's Catholic School (2001) - A-Level English, French, Religious Studies - all A grade (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Oxford English tutor, Oxford Entrance Exams tutor, Oxford Secondary English tutor, Oxford GCSE English tutor, Oxford A-Level English tutor, Oxford Casual Learner English tutor, Oxford Primary Entrance Exams tutor