Information About Helen - Bristol tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Helen's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Helen:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Helen (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I am a graduate in Spanish and Portuguese from Bristol University.I have taught EFL Spanish and some Portuguese to adults teenagers and children for many years in the UK and abroad.I have lived abroad in Argentina and Spain and enjoy travel and spending holidays in new locations with my family.I am also a Mum and have a ten year old son and an eighteen year old daughter, who is currently studying A levels. In my spare time I enjoy singing and sing in a Bristol community choir.I really enjoy tutoring, am passionate about learning and learning languages.I live in the Bristol area and also drive a car, so I am happy to drive out to tutees homes.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught English as a Foreign Language since 1992, when I started teaching in the UK at language schools.I then lived and worked abroad in Spain and Argentina, teaching English as a Foreign language to young learners as well as adults.I have also worked as a Teaching Assistant in a primary school, assisting special needs pupils.I have taught Spanish to A/S level privately as well as at evening classes at The City of Bristol College and adult education(to adults from beginners to upper intermediate level).I have also taught and tutored children at primary and secondary level in Spanish (KS2 and KS3). I also have a good knowledge of IELTS and Cambridge exams (FCE and TOEIC) and have current experience of EAP (English for Academic Purposes).

Tutoring Approach:

I am quite flexible and resourceful when tutoring, I like to do an initial needs analysis and background to really focus on the particular needs and goals of the student and tutee.I am well resourced and like to focus on a variety of different methods and materials in my teaching.With language learning particularly at lower levels, I think it is important to practise speaking and listening as much as possible, engaging in role plays and games to practise vocabulary.I am very familiar with exam material particularly for GCSE and AS and A2 Spanish.I am always very well prepared and aim to provide the essential balance of supporting the student and pushing them to achieve their aims.


  • University of Bristol (2002) - BA (Hons) in Spanish and Portuguese (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • International House (1992) - RSA Cert in TEFLA (Professional) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Portuguese, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Bristol Spanish tutor, Bristol English (Foreign Language) tutor, Bristol Primary Spanish tutor, Bristol Secondary Spanish tutor, Bristol GCSE Spanish tutor, Bristol A-Level Spanish tutor, Bristol Casual Learner Spanish tutor, Bristol Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Bristol GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Bristol A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Bristol University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Bristol Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor