Information About Helen - Cardiff tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Helen's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Helen:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Helen (Ms)


Personal Description:

Hi, I'm Helen! I trained as a biologist, to post-graduate level, but my work and interests have led to a bit of cross-over with the other two natural sciences, chemistry and physics. I really enjoy tutoring all three at GCSE/National level now. They complement one another and I find it helps to be able to reflect on the other two while you're learning one of them. It's interesting when a tutee comes to me finding one more tricky than the others; it tells me something about how their brain works!

Beyond secondary, I also tutor Biology at A Level/Higher and, if you have a special request for a biological subject, feel free to get in touch to see if I can cover it with you.

My background includes ecological surveys, offshore work, sound analysis and research, but I've always kept up some teaching along the way. There's so much out there in terms of fantastic, cutting-edge science, it's my task to enthuse students in this subject that helps us understand the world! The fact that I also do some other work in consultancy and research means I can offer insight into real-world science jobs for those budding scientists out there.

Why not ping me a message to discuss how I can help?

Tutoring Experience:

I've worked in nursery, primary and secondary schools in learning support and assisting in the classroom, at a science festival, giving guest lectures in further and higher education, and training adults in the workplace and in less formal settings. I started tutoring science in the spring, so I've seen my first batch of tutees through their exams; I am loving it! I am fully DBS-checked.

Tutoring Approach:

Bringing energy and dedication to my teaching, I enjoy finding new ways to explain concepts in science. Having worked on some exciting science projects myself (meerkats in the Kalahari, fishes on the Great Barrier Reef, bats in Israel), I am committed to inspiring today’s students and making science enjoyable, whatever their age or stage of learning.

We will start by finding out more about your hopes and goals, areas of difficulty and what you really love doing, and plan a course of tutoring that works for you.


  • University of Aberdeen (2010) - MSc Applied Marine and Fisheries Ecology (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Cardiff University (2007) - BSc (Hons) Zoology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Cardiff Physics tutor, Cardiff Chemistry tutor, Cardiff Biology tutor, Cardiff Secondary Physics tutor, Cardiff GCSE Physics tutor, Cardiff Secondary Chemistry tutor, Cardiff GCSE Chemistry tutor, Cardiff Secondary Biology tutor, Cardiff GCSE Biology tutor, Cardiff A-Level Biology tutor, Cardiff University Biology tutor, Cardiff Casual Learner Biology tutor