Heather

Heather

Derby Tutor

Hi, I'm Heather and I am a qualified Primary School Teacher and Secondary Maths teacher. I'm a keen musician and play Piano and Cornet to a good standard, and have taught myself to play Violin, Flute and Guitar. I also get involved with a range of sports, particularly swimming and badminton and enjoy needlework, crafts and baking.
I have recently left full-time teaching and now work with individuals and small groups of students offering Maths tuition, instrumental music tuition and teach swimming lessons at my local pool.

Tutoring Experience

As a Qualified Teacher, I have been teaching Mathematics in a Secondary school for 5 years and have also completed a range of other school-based teaching placements in other Secondary Schools, Primary schools and also in Special Education settings. I acted as a maths mentor at my school and have supported people with their Numeracy and Literacy skills at University. I have previously acted as a coach for water polo teams, I teach group Swimming lessons for children and teach Piano, Cornet and Trumpet lessons on a 1:1 basis. I became a Young Leader at a Brownie Unit went on to train Cadets at my local St John Ambulance Unit. I am now Youth Leader with St John Ambulance for the local Badger Unit, working with children aged 5-11.
Since leaving full-time teaching, I'm really enjoying being able to focus on individual student's needs outside of the classroom and helping to build students' confidence and enthusiasm within their learning.

Tutoring Approach

I am a creative tutor and have access to a wide range of resources to support learning. I always adapt sessions to support the individual needs of all tutees and take into account prior knowledge as well as what is specifically required. I am keen to motivate and enthuse students to achieve well and can often explain things in a variety of ways. Through my teaching experience, I have a clear understanding of the expectations of exam boards for students working towards formal qualifications, which enables invaluable input in supporting students in preparation for such exams. This is also supported by my experience of marking GCSE and A Level Maths and Further Maths exam papers for multiple exam boards over the last 3 years.

LanguagesEnglish (British), German
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Edge Hill University2013BachelorsBSc(Hons) Key Stage 2/3 Mathematics Education with QTS
Edge Hill University2011QTSQTS Skills Tests
Lymm High School2009CollegeA2 Level Maths(A), Further Maths(A), Biology(B), Chemistry(B), German(B)
Lymm High School2007SchoolGCSE English Language, English Literature, Maths, Biology, Chemsitry, Physics, German, Geography, Textiles

Heather's Feedback

Feedback
4
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)1
Heather
Rating from 4 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Primary£25
Secondary£30
GCSE£32
A-Level£35
University£40
Casual Learner£32
German
Primary£20
Secondary£25
GCSE£25
Special Needs
Primary£25
Secondary£28
Music
Primary£22
Secondary£25