Heather

Heather

Swindon Tutor

I am an enthusiastic and dedicated English tutor, Cambridge International Examinations IGCSE Examiner and home educator of a young family member. I am able to teach KS1- Undergraduate. I offer interesting and stimulating online lessons which are individually planned to meet the needs of each student.I build upon the strengths of each student to enable them to have the confidence to overcome the areas of study they find most difficult. I welcome students of all abilities including SEN students.
I am fully aware of the advantages and challenges of home study as I have studied for all my degrees through home study. I have research interests in Thomas Hardy studies and wrote my doctoral thesis on Hardy's poetry.
I am a member of the Tutor's Association and am DBS Enhanced Checked.

Tutoring Experience

I have been the home educator of a young family member since 2010 and have taught across the curriculum from KS1- KS3-4.
I am also an examiner for Cambridge International Examinations IGCSE English and have served on their grade review panel.
I am a self employed tutor and have tutored many GCSE English students from mainstream school and home educated backgrounds. I welcome SEN students and have experience of teaching those with dyslexia, autism, ADHD, anxiety and manual problems.
I have a 100% pass rate with all students achieving grades A*- C.

Tutoring Approach

I have an enthusiastic and friendly approach to tutoring. I provide individually planned lessons which meet the needs of each student. I build upon the strengths of the student to enable them to have the confidence to overcome the areas of study they find more difficult. I believe that students learn more effectively if they find lessons interesting and varied and try to plan lessons which draw upon the interests of my students. I also teach at the pace each student needs. If one area of work takes longer than another, that isn't a problem as I am very flexible in my approach. I enjoy tutoring immensely and feel great satisfaction in seeing all my students reach their full potential.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

The Open University2005BachelorsBachelor of Arts
The Open University2009MastersMaster of Arts in Literature
Nottingham Trent University2018DoctorateDoctor of Philosophy
The Open University2001OtherDiploma in Classical Studies
Heather
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
English
Primary£25
Secondary£25
GCSE£25
A-Level£25
University£25
Casual Learner£25