Information About Harry - Brighton tutor

Profile Picture

Harry's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Harry:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £27.00
Casual Learner £27.00

Map Location

Map for Harry (Mr)


Personal Description:

My four main interests in life are travel, learning, music and being active.

I try and travel whenever I can. One of the great things about being a teacher (other than the thrill of standing in front of a classroom, obviously!) is that it allows you to have long breaks. Every two years or so I try and get away to a long haul destination and spend 4 weeks exploring a new country. It's something I hope to continue in to old age!

I love to learn - one of the main reasons I got into teaching! I find great reward in learning from other people, and have a lot of time for listening to people talk about their passions and interests, whatever they may be. It often encourages me to learn more about the subject matter. Another of the great things about teaching is the wide range of people you meet and all that they expose you to. I learn so much from my students!

I'm also a passionate music listener. It frustrates me immensely that I can never remember the names of new artists that I listen to, but it doesn't stop me looking out for new music!

And, finally, I love being active - I play football regularly and mountain bike and surf whenever I can. I generally love being outdoors, especially in the sun!

Tutoring Experience:

I have a full teaching qualification and 3 years experience teaching English. I currently coordinate the Functional Skills English course at a large Further Education in East Sussex. I have worked with a range of students with different educational backgrounds including school leavers (16-19), apprentices, adult learners (both in and out of work) and learners with a range of SpLDs. I have taught 1-1, small groups and large groups.

Tutoring Approach:

1-1 tutoring is very different from classroom tutoring, and the approach taken largely depends on the student. I am very conscious of the pressure that a student can feel if their tutor is very 'present', so will try and adapt my delivery style accordingly.

In order to assess individual student needs, I use a specially designed diagnostic assessment which allows me to identify all the areas that a student needs to work on in order to progress. This diagnostic is linked to feedback and progress forms that gives the student the ability to track their own progress.

One belief that runs across all approaches I take to teaching/tutoring, is the belief that a student needs to understand the success criteria for whatever they are studying. As such, I ensure that I spend some time teaching the student to assess their own work and identify their own targets and areas for improvement, ideally giving the student the ability to undertake effective self-directed study.

I also utilize active learning as much as possible, trying to keep 'lectures' down to an absolute minimum and intervening only to address misconceptions. This can take a variety of forms; I try to vary delivery style as much as possible in order to keep sessions interesting.


  • University of Brighton (2014) - Post-compulsory education (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Sussex (2010) - Social and Political Thought (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Reading University (2007) - Philosophy (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Brighton English tutor, Brighton GCSE English tutor, Brighton Casual Learner English tutor