Skip to main content

Information About Hannah - Edinburgh tutor

Profile Picture

Hannah's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Hannah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Hannah offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£24.00
Secondary £30.00£24.00
GCSE £30.00£24.00
A-Level £30.00£24.00
University £30.00£24.00
Casual Learner £30.00£24.00

Map Location

Map for Hannah

Personal Description:

Hello! I’m a 27 year old Glaswegian about to begin a PGDE in Secondary English at the University of Edinburgh. Professionally experienced in teaching students of all ages, I also have a Masters degree in English Literature from UCL, a 1:1 BA (Hons) in English Literature from the University of Glasgow, and am a PVG Scheme member. I’m passionate about teaching, and working with young learners to gain confidence in their own writing. No matter your age or what exam, coursework or assignment you are preparing for, I’m happy to help.

I am experienced in helping students of all age groups, but specialise in National 5/GCSE. Lessons are £30 per hour, and a taster session is £20 per hour. Lessons will take place at your house or, depending on the time, in a local library or coffee shop. I am free anytime during evenings and weekends, and am happy to travel anywhere under an hour from my home by bus.

Tutoring Experience:

From 2012-2016, I worked as an English Language Teacher in Japan on the government-run JET Programme. I taught English to Japanese students in junior high schools and elementary schools in Fukuoka for two years, before leading my own classes at a private preschool/after school in Tokyo. In the evenings, I also tutored several senior high school students for their English exams, and led weekly conversation classes to help groups of adult students improve their spoken English.

In Scotland, I have assisted students with both National 5 and GCSE English folio work. Both of my students (one of whom was dyslexic) improved from a D to a B grade. I have a thorough knowledge of writing and composition, and, having prepared many students for speaking tests, I’m also able to help with any solo talks or speaking assessments.

I’m also an unabashed Shakespeare geek, and won a prize for distinction in my Shakespeare course as an undergraduate. If there is any aspect of Shakespeare you need help with, I’m here, and ready to get stuck into some Macbeth witchery or Capulet melodrama!

Tutoring Approach:

I think it’s important to make sure that my tutees feel comfortable studying one-to-one with me outside a classroom environment. Not everybody is naturally gifted in their academic writing, and that’s ok - together we can work to improve this. By talking through the material with my tutee and finding out what about it engages them or piques their interest, I usually find that they have understood the material very well, but have simply struggled to put it into words. Once we have worked a bit on vocabulary, critical reading and composition skills, I find students are surprised by their progress, and how much they are capable of on their own.

No matter your learning style, I will make sure we find a lesson structure and study schedule that you are comfortable with and
that helps you see results. I will also provide as much homework as you feel you can handle, if you think you could use the extra practice.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Japanese
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University College London (UCL) (2017) - English: Issues in Modern Culture (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Glasgow (2012) - English Literature (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Edinburgh English tutor, Edinburgh Primary English tutor, Edinburgh Secondary English tutor, Edinburgh GCSE English tutor, Edinburgh A-Level English tutor, Edinburgh University English tutor, Edinburgh Casual Learner English tutor