Information About Guy - Blackheath tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Guy's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Guy:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £40.00
13 Plus £40.00
University £40.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00
Secondary £40.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £40.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Map for Guy (Dr)


Personal Description:

Hello, I'm Guy, 28. I'm a Cambridge doctoral student who specialises in tutoring maths, english, exam preparation, music, and Cambridge applications.

I've just finished a Music PhD at Cambridge entitled 'Singing as one: community in synchrony'. My thesis looks at how we sing in time with each other, and what that might mean for how group singing can form community.

As a baritone singer, I was a Choral Scholar at Trinity College, Cambridge, and have sung with the National Youth Chamber Choir (Laudibus). I was a finalist in a National art song competition, and have won places on the Oxford Lieder Master Course, and a British Youth Opera workshop. I have soundcloud accounts for my classical singing (guyhayward), for my folk singing (haywardparsons), and for my satirical jazz duo (BounderandCad), with whom I recently performed at 10, Downing Street for the Christmas Party, and have performed with Dee Palmer of Jethro Tull and Gyles Brandreth.

In March 2012 I produced Cavalieri’s opera ‘Rappresentatione di Anima, e di Corpo (1600)’ at Trinity College, Cambridge, and sang the lead role. This was a revival of a production in Venice that I had sung in the year before.

For the organisation ‘Chroma’ (click here), I have evaluated their ‘Sing & Grow’ group music therapy program for adoptive children under four years old and their parents last year in Essex, and this year in Dorset. As a result of the research I performed in Essex the program has received funding to roll out this program around the country.

I recently completed a ‘singing pilgrimage’ between Winchester and Canterbury with the professional wandering minstrel Will Parsons (of We walked ancient pathways, slept in extraordinary places, foraged wild food, drank wild water and cooked with fire. What was surprising was how much hospitality we received along the way.

Tutoring Experience:

I supervised Cambridge University undergraduates for three years (2009-2012) for the second-year ‘Introduction to Music & Science(/Psychology)’ course (22 students, c.352 student hours) and also third-year dissertation projects (6 students, c.30-40 hours). In one of the years, the average mark across my seven second-year students was 69%, i.e. 1% off a first-class mark for the module.

In 2012 I created and taught an accessible ‘Introduction to Psychology’ seminar course to a group of five 15-16 yr-olds (nine 75-min sessions) as part of a Cambridge summer school. They learnt about a wide range of aspects that characterise ‘being human’; e.g. emotion, memory & learning, decision-making, child development, language, perception, being social, dreaming, the evolution of our minds.

My current singing students are wonderful and of all different ages; I've also taught a 6-year-old boy academic and singing lessons, after which he was awarded a choral scholarship to St. Paul's Cathedral Choir School! This is a remarkable achievement in itself, but especially so given that he lacked confidence in his singing when I first met him.

I have also 'mentored' a 7-year-old boy, preparing early-morning lessons to stimulate his inquiring mind that he would otherwise not have been taught; e.g. the cracking of the Enigma code and the rules of football (he liked football!).


Caroline (parent of twins studying for 7+ Entrance Exam)
"Guy patiently tutored my twins for the 7 plus from October 2014 until January 2015. He is an incredibly capable teacher, striking the right balance between patience and authority. Both children are responsive to his direction, which is particularly effective. He has taken the time to connect with each child and uses his knowledge of their interests in his teaching methods. It is clear Guy enjoys working with children and the twins genuinely like him.
I have found his approach exactly as I wanted and his open, honest manner is very much appreciated.
On a practical note, Guy made himself available throughout holidays and in the week preceding their exam."

Peter (GCSE Music student, Feb-Jun ’15)
“I just wanted to thank you…you have been really helpful and fun to work with and I’ve enjoyed every moment of it. I think you’ve been a really good tutor and I will miss our lessons.”

Debbie (parent of GCSE Maths student)
“We are pleased to have found Guy. He’s always a pleasure to deal with, and my son has enjoyed his tutoring, and says he now understands the subject better as a result.”

Kay (parent of GCSE Maths student)
“Guy is very polite and reliable. My son feels very confident with him.”

Mehboob Hamza (Chairman and Founder of Seven Seas Computers LLC, and Founder/Director of “The Cambridge Advantage” Summer School Programme for 15/16-yr-olds)
“Guy is an exceptionally able young man and perhaps one of the most perspicacious minds I have met in the last few years… in December 2011 he constructed a bespoke course on psychology/neuroscience with cross channeling into philosophy and literature that enhanced and sharpened my children’s capacity to be reflective, intuitive, and creative. Guy has tutored both my children, Hafeez in 2012 and Kulsum in 2013, who were 15/16 at the time. Guy’s work ethic, style and flair for teaching are exemplary. His particular strengths are tutor/tutee interaction, delivery and engagement, and a quiet confidence in winning the tutee’s attention and desire for learning. In the Cambridge summer school I directed, the students rated Guy the best tutor. My children and I would unanimously recommend him as a tutor, mentor and guide, and any student who has the privilege of engaging with him would be inspired and impassioned beyond their imagination.”

Tutoring Approach:

I try to teach the whole person; i.e. if there are issues which are affecting someone's ability to learn, but are not directly linked to the subject content itself, we will concentrate on these aspects as we go along.

I try to relate the subject I am teaching at any given time to the 'real-world'. This is very important, because, otherwise, what's the point of learning at all?!

However, I do appreciate the need to pass exams (my qualifications should be proof of that), and will also focus on easy, simple ways of 'playing within the system' and achieving better exam results with less work.

I try to create a caring teaching environment, and will never judge a student for not doing enough work/trying hard enough.

Finally, my biggest aim is not just to teach a student, but, in some small way, to inspire them to want to learn on their own.


  • Trinity College, Cambridge (2009) - MPhil in Musicology (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Trinity College, Cambridge (2008) - BA (Hons) in Music - 2.1 (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • King Edward's School, Bath (2005) - A Levels - Music (A), Maths (A), Further Maths (A), Latin (A) (School) (✔ On File)
  • King Edward's School, Bath (2003) - GCSE's - 9A*, A (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Blackheath Maths tutor, Blackheath English tutor, Blackheath Entrance Exams tutor, Blackheath Music tutor, Blackheath Primary Maths tutor, Blackheath Secondary Maths tutor, Blackheath GCSE Maths tutor, Blackheath Primary English tutor, Blackheath Secondary English tutor, Blackheath Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Blackheath Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Blackheath University Entrance Exams tutor, Blackheath Primary Music tutor, Blackheath Secondary Music tutor, Blackheath GCSE Music tutor, Blackheath A-Level Music tutor, Blackheath University Music tutor, Blackheath Casual Learner Music tutor