Skip to main content

Information About Graham - Runcorn tutor -

Profile Picture

Graham's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Graham:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Personal Description:

I am a qualified and highly experinced teacher and tutor, and a married father of three children, with two in university and one in sixth form. I therefore feel that am well placed to consider and understand the wider perspective both as a teacher and also as a parent. I believe that I am friendly, down-to-earth and approachable, and this helps me in my day-to-day dealings with people.

Tutoring Experience:

As a qualified and practicing secondary school teacher and personal tutor, I have gained over 22 years experience within many school settings. I have successfully taught at all levels throughout secondary school, from the lowest ability in Year 7 to the highest ability of Year 11. I have also taught GCSE resit in sixth form and have successfully tutored adult learners to achieve the essential pass in order to progress onqq in thier careers. I have also benefitted from some invaluable past experience in working as a teacher within the full variety of special needs school settings. This includes various learning and behavioural difficulties, autism, specific difficulties and within the residential care environment. The vast experience that I have acquired as a teacher has helped me to develop into a capable and adaptable, thoughtful, compassionate and effective educator. I feel confident to work with my pupils and tutees in a flexible, understanding and constructive manner based upon friendly, positive relationships and mutual respect.

Tutoring Approach:

I have worked outside school hours as a personal maths tutor for about 8 years now, both privately and also for students within a foster home setting via Social Services. I have successfully tutored and supported many students during this time, on a weekly basis with some for just a period and others for as long as 3-4 years. I have quickly developed strong working relationships with all of my students and have enjoyed extremely positive feedback and results throughout.
My approach to tutoring is first of all to support the student in whatever they are doing in their maths at school because this would be usually their main source of learning, with them spending 4 – 5 hours a week within lessons. I always seek to rectify any misunderstandings or issues that they have in their current maths work, to ensure that they are confident and receptive in their coming lessons. My students become confident and assured that I will address any problems that arise, and consequently I find, they become more relaxed and also more determined to achieve given this additional and regular input and interest. If I find that my students are progressing well in their school lessons, then we may work on other areas which have become highlighted, topic consolidation or exam preparation. My down-to-earth and friendly approach will always help my students to become as relaxed as possible so that effective working relationships are achieved, and that the overall tutoring experience is an extremely positive and successful one.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • University Of St.Martin, Lancaster (1995) - Secondary teaching certificate (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Liverpool John Moores University (1990) - BSc(Hons) Combined Studies - Geography/Geology/Maths (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • The Heath School, Runcorn (1987) - A level Geography, Maths (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • The Heath School, Runcorn (1985) - GCE O levels - 8 grade A-C (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Runcorn Maths tutor, Runcorn Secondary Maths tutor, Runcorn GCSE Maths tutor, Runcorn Casual Learner Maths tutor