Skip to main content

Information About Graham - Exmouth tutor

Profile Picture

Graham's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Graham:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Graham

Personal Description:

I have been teaching for over 40 years and I love communicating my passion for the English language and its literature to others, whether in a classroom or a one-to-one situation. I am married to an art teacher and we have three grown up children. As well as reading, my interests include music, cooking and cricket. I enjoy the lively company of young learners.

Tutoring Experience:

For 33 years I taught at a major independent school in Hampshire. For the last twenty years I was head of English. My department was consistently one of the strongest in the school for GCSE and A level results and for Oxbridge entrance. I previously taught in state schools and since moving to Devon I have taught part time at one state school and three independent schools.

Tutoring Approach:

The first step is to identify the strengths and weaknesses of the tutee so that work can be devised to nurture the former and address the latter. Tutoring also requires a good personal relationship, so it involves more than just ploughing through the work.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Leeds (1976) - English with history (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Leeds (1975) - BA (Hons) 2.1 English and Philosophy (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Exmouth English tutor, Exmouth GCSE English tutor, Exmouth A-Level English tutor