Information About Giovanni - Dulwich tutor

Profile Picture

Giovanni's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Giovanni:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
A-Level £25.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Philosophy / Critical Thinking

Hourly Rate
A-Level £25.00

Media / Communication Studies

Hourly Rate
A-Level £25.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Map Location

Map for Giovanni (Dr)


Personal Description:

I am now an independent scholar and pursuing parallel interests such as Fine Art and Landscape Architecture. I did my undergraduate degree in Contemporary Literature at the University of Bari (Italy); then I took an MA in Communication, Culture and Society at Goldsmiths College-University of London, and obtained my PhD in Sociology (ESRC funded) at the London School of Economics. I was a Lecturer in Sociology at Birmingham University and in the School of Applied Social Sciences at Durham University.

Tutoring Experience:

I am an experienced teacher at undergraduate and graduate levels. In my career as a Lecturer in Sociology I designed and convened modules such as: 'Visual Culture', 'Gender and Sexuality', 'Politics of Representation', 'Cultural Research Methods', 'Media, Culture and Society' and 'International Communications'. Moreover, I have substantial experience of teaching social theory, having taught theory modules such as: 'Sociological Theory' (LSE), 'Modern Power/Modern Knowledge', 'Critical Readings', 'The Enlightenment and its Legacy: Introduction to Modernity and Postmodernity' (Goldsmiths), 'Issues in Contemporary Sociology' (LSBU), 'Self, Identity and Society' (Durham), 'The Body' (Essex). Additionally, I have extensive experience in teaching research methods. My main interest is in qualitative methodologies and in particular visual methodologies (visual/discourse analysis, visual ethnography, photo-elicitation, visual content analysis, etc.). My teaching experience has also included the setting and marking of coursework and exams, and supervising undergraduate and postgraduate dissertations.

Tutoring Approach:

I have undergone extensive training in pedagogy during his Teaching Accreditation Programme at the London School of Economics. I have taught to students coming from the most diverse backgrounds (in terms of gender, sexuality, class, ethnicity, religion, and different abilities). In my teaching practice, I make all possible efforts to create the most inclusive learning environment in which individual abilities and experiences are respected, and understood as resources rather than obstacles to the collective learning. I always try to teach my modules in innovative and student centred ways and I strive to make my teaching as exciting as I can. I regularly employ information technology as a teaching and learning tool.


  • LSE (2005) - PhD in Sociology (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • Goldsmiths College (1996) - Master in Communication, Culture and Society (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Universita' di Bari Italy (1990) - BA Contemporary Literaure (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: Italian
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Dulwich Sociology tutor, Dulwich Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Dulwich Media / Communication Studies tutor, Dulwich A-Level Sociology tutor, Dulwich University Sociology tutor, Dulwich Casual Learner Sociology tutor, Dulwich A-Level Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Dulwich A-Level Media / Communication Studies tutor, Dulwich University Media / Communication Studies tutor, Dulwich Casual Learner Media / Communication Studies tutor