Gillian

Gillian

Maths and English Tuition in Cowes

I am an English graduate, with a First Class Hons degree, from University of Southampton. I started tutoring in 2010, because my own kids had left home and I gave up full time work. I enjoy working with children and young people and I particularly enjoy helping those who struggle. I have been tutoring for 7 years. I specialise in 10-11 year old English and Maths, particularly for entry exams. I also have experienced with GCSE English and A Level essay writing skills. I love building a relationship with my students and seeing their confidence grow.

Tutoring Experience

Lionheart Education, Blythe Road, London. 2010-2017 Tutor to individual students age 8-18 in English, Maths, French, Latin and Psychology. Preparation for Common Entrance and American School in London.

Private Tutor Isle of Wight. 7 years tutoring individual students in English, Maths, French.

Chemmy Alcott Easter Ski Camp, 2017. Tutor to 4 prospective ski racers, aged 13 -17, preparing them for GCSE and AS.

Tutoring Approach

Firstly I believe it is important to build a relationship with the student. Young children learn when they are relaxed and enjoying the work. Games can be a part of the learning process. If they do not understand something, there is always another way of explaining it.
For older students, they may need help with organisation, revision skills, essay writing technique, templates. Every student is an individual and their needs must be assessed individually.
But always they will need motivation and the belief they can succeed.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Southampton 2000BachelorsEnglish BA First Class
Loughton Grammar School1972SchoolEnglish, French, Latin A Level grade A
Loughton Grammar School1970School10 O levels grade A-C

Gillian's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
1
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)1
Gillian
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism