Skip to main content

Information About Geraldine - Callington tutor -
(6 reviews)

Profile Picture

Geraldine's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Geraldine:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
University £40.00

Business Related

Hourly Rate
University £40.00

Psychology

Hourly Rate
University £40.00

Sociology

Hourly Rate
University £40.00

Philosophy / Critical Thinking

Hourly Rate
University £40.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
University £40.00

Map Location

Map for Geraldine

Personal Description:

Following a career in business I returned to education as a mature student. After sucessfully completing a Socal Policy and Administration degree, I worked in community development for several years working with many disadvantaged groups.
I have taught at the South West College of Nursing, the College of Further Education at Plymouth and at Plymouth University. Having returned to education as an adult leaner, I have a particular understanding of the issues facing adult returners to education. I am experienced in helping students with particular needs such as dyslexia. My experience of living abroad has given me an understanding of the difficulties faced by those who are not fluent in the language of their country of residence. This gives me a resonance with students who have English as a second language.

Tutoring Experience:

I have 25 years experience of teaching. mentoring and tutoring. In this time I have worked with students at university, college, A and GSCE levels and adult returners to education. Currently, I am at the University of Plymouth teaching pre-Masters business students. I have taught on Access to University courses at Plymouth City College. In the recent past my teaching has covered nursing and the social care professions, mental health, research methods, study skills, business and teaching English as a foreign language. I am accustomed to working with students with particular needs such as dyslexia or with English as a second language. I am able to tutor from basic study skills to degree, Masters and Doctorate levels.

Tutoring Approach:

My results are excellent because I enable each student to maximise thieir potential. Firstly, I help each student to identify their strengths and areas in need of attention. We then work together on those strengths and areas needing support using the teaching style most appropriate to the student. I am also able to explan complex concepts in an easy to understand manner. This approach promotes a self-confidence, which underpins progress and development.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Plymouth (1998) - Ph.D (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • Plymouth Polytech (1990) - Ba (hons) Social Policy and Administration. (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Plymouth Polytech (1990) - Dip CW (Other) (✔ On File)

Tags: Callington English tutor, Callington Business Related tutor, Callington Psychology tutor, Callington Sociology tutor, Callington Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Callington Study Skills tutor, Callington University English tutor, Callington University Business Related tutor, Callington University Psychology tutor, Callington University Sociology tutor, Callington University Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Callington University Study Skills tutor