Skip to main content

Information About Katie - Sheffield tutor -

Profile Picture

Katie's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Katie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00

German

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a mature student enrolled in Biomedical Sciences at the University of Sheffield. I am of a Maths and Science background from school and began tutoring GCSE Maths and Sciences after school at Sixth Form college. I have since learned Spanish and German to fluency. This was during the 4 years break I took between school and University, a time I chose to live abroad and pursue language learning as well as exploring other cultures and deciding what direction to continue in in life. I began teaching myself Spanish in 2014 and by the end of the following year had become fluent after spending 15 months total in South America and 4 months in Spain, during which time I received private tuition and completed a 4-week intensive language course before starting two internships I had applied for in Chile, lasting 8 months in total.
Coming from a German background, I began learning bits of German from a young age, which I continued through to A-Level and ended up completing a 3-month intensive language course in Germany to gain a C1 certificate. This enabled me to commence studies in Mathematics at Humboldt University in Berlin, which I decided to discontinue in order to pursue Medicine.
Mathematics was always my strongest subject in school and I probably would not have enjoyed homework were it not for the joy of being able to work through complex maths problems.
Also, I go by my middle name, Georgie, so please don't be confused if I sign emails with this name!

Tutoring Experience:

My first experience of teaching was in sixth-form college, where I was assigned a role as a mentor to GCSE Physics and Maths students. Students would come in after school with any areas they struggled with and I would help them to understand them using the textbook and at the time improvisation! As I took Further Maths, I was also able to teach lower sixth Maths students, again helping them through Maths problems during lunchtime drop-in sessions.
During my gap year, I also had a 3-month job tutoring a primary school girl in preparation for her common entrance exams. This was done over 9 hours a week and had a rewarding outcome as she was accepted into the school she was aiming for.
I also had the opportunity to teach Spanish at a Junior School in Croydon a couple of years ago. I prepared a 30 minute class, which I gave to 3 year 6 classes one afternoon. I was amazed by the engagement from all the children as well as their capacity to learn at that age.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a patient, empathetic and understanding person, which are the 3 foremost characteristics I'd bring to the classroom. Having specific learning disabilities myself, I appreciate that everyone's brain works in its own unique and wonderful way and the most important step to tutoring somebody is experimenting with methods that best suits them. I am determined that everyone is capable, so I'd continue to suggest alternate perspectives around a topic until the students' understanding is finally met.
I also appreciate that many people have certain anxieties towards learning, particularly Maths, so I'd do all I can to provide a comfortable environment in which the tutee does not feel pressured to always know the answer and feels confident to ask questions and tell me when they don't understand, no matter how inadequate they may feel at the time.
Encouragement is crucial to anyone's learning development. I therefore would always look for and point out their strengths and congratulate them for any progress they make. This would also help to instil a sense of belief in themselves, which in my opinion is key for somebody to enjoy and excel in their learning and ultimately reach their full potential.
I am also understanding that some subjects are more difficult to some people due to a lack of interest in that subject, particularly at GCSE where students still have a broad, unspecialised subject range. As a solution to this I would try to shed a different light on the subject by offering alternate perspectives and applications of that particular subject in the world, to help give the student a broader perspective and perhaps find a different appreciation towards it to what they previously thought.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Godalming College (2013) - Maths A-Level (A*) (College) (✔ On File)
  • Godalming College (2013) - Further Maths A-Level (A*) (College) (✔ On File)
  • Godalming College (2013) - Physics A-Level (A) (College) (✔ On File)
  • Godalming College (2013) - German A-Level (A) (College) (✔ On File)

Tags: Sheffield Maths tutor, Sheffield Spanish tutor, Sheffield German tutor, Sheffield Primary Maths tutor, Sheffield Secondary Maths tutor, Sheffield GCSE Maths tutor, Sheffield Primary Spanish tutor, Sheffield Secondary Spanish tutor, Sheffield GCSE Spanish tutor, Sheffield Primary German tutor, Sheffield Secondary German tutor, Sheffield GCSE German tutor