Skip to main content

Information About Georgia - Chelsea tutor

Profile Picture

Georgia's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Georgia:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £90.00
GCSE £95.00
A-Level £105.00

Map Location

Map for Georgia

Personal Description:

Hi there! I am a bubbly and enthusiastic individual who is passionate about maths. From a young age, mathematics has always fascinated me. This keen interest that I had in maths motivated me to do well in this subject and as a result, I attained A* in GCSE maths, A* in A-level maths and 77% overall in A-level further maths. Apart from studying hard to achieve these results, I also believed I did well because of the influential maths teachers I had. I believe that every student has the ability to do well in maths; they just need someone who is patient, energetic, compassionate and friendly.

Tutoring Experience:

During my time at City University London, where I studied a bachelors in mathematics and finance, I tutored GSCE maths at a nearby secondary school. In addition, I spent more than three years working at a well known tuition centre, teaching English and Maths to pupils aged 3 to 16. I am currently working as a private tutor and I absolutely love it! I also have a PGCE in secondary mathematics from King's College London. This course enabled me to develop my understanding of the pedagogy of teaching maths.

For me, learning maths should be a positive and engaging experience, and not seem like a tedious chore. As the American mathematician William Paul Thurston said, "Mathematics is not about numbers, equations, computations or algorithms, it is about understanding."

Tutoring Approach:

My tutoring style is very interactive. Rather than just spending a whole session talking to the student, I believe in questioning them and getting them to share their ideas with me. I do not believe in rote learning i.e. students taught a method to memorise. To me, it is essential that students have a conceptual understanding of what they are learning. I will use various resources such as mini whiteboards, mini quizzes, games, questions from past papers, as well as working from textbooks that I will provide. I will also tailor my tutoring for each individual. I will also provide techniques that I used to help me do well in the exams. Organisation is very important so my lessons are planned in advance.

PLEASE NOTE: Lessons are for a minimum of 2 hours.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • King's College London (2018) - PGCE in Secondary Mathematics (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • City University London (2016) - BSc with Hons in Mathematics and Finance (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Duff Miller College (2012) - A* in A-level maths (College) (✔ On File)
  • Duff Miller College (2012) - B in A-level further maths (College) (✔ On File)

Tags: Chelsea Maths tutor, Chelsea Secondary Maths tutor, Chelsea GCSE Maths tutor, Chelsea A-Level Maths tutor