Skip to main content

Information About Geoffrey - Torquay tutor -

Profile Picture

Geoffrey's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Geoffrey:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £24.00
GCSE £24.00

Map Location

Map for Geoffrey

Personal Description:

I am an experienced teacher with over 30 years teaching mathematics and 15 years tutoring. I moved to the Torquay area around 15 years ago having previously worked in Hampshire. I enjoy the tutoring experience and helping youngsters reach their goals since moving to Torquay. I have built up the experience of tutoring youngsters and, now, try to specialise in 15/16 year olds who are approaching their exams.
I can be available during daytimes which makes me a suitable candidate for pupils who have home teaching. The style and standards required for the new GCSE have challenged us all but at least we have two examples now to go on!
I do tend to be popular, and word of mouth means my diary gets full early in the academic year. Thus, I advertise on this site for a relatively short time. In the academic year 18/19 I have just 2 students booked at the time of writing.

Tutoring Experience:

I started teaching Mathematics in 1972 and have taught in comprehensive schools all my life. I have taught all ages and abilities but wish, now, to concentrate on GCSE level. I have a vast knowledge of the examination system having served on various examination committees, marked GCSE papers, and was heavily involved in the marking of Year 9 SATS papers, being a 'Team Leader' for a group of markers. I was even employed by QCA to help sort out the 'mess' created by the firm ETS in the 2008 exams! I am heavily involved with the present KS2 exams. I mark them, train teachers to mark them and supervise a team of markers. I have been employed on the appeals panel to make decisions when schools felt their students had been incorrectly assessed. I have enjoyed tutoring pupils since moving to Torquay, and am extremely pleased with the results obtained. The 2017results were particularly pleasing. (still waiting on 2018) However, the new style and increased standards needed to get a 'C' or above pass in the new style exams are a challenge for students, teachers and tutors! Work in progress here!

Tutoring Approach:

I believe I am sympathetic to a youngster's needs and try to tailor the session to the individual pupil. Some youngsters (many!) need to build their confidence in the subject, some just need help in understanding. I would say my strength is that I can explain topics in a simple way, and my vast knowledge of the exam system means I am likely to know each syllabus' individual requirements. I am extremely patient!
In a one hour session I would hope to check on whether a person is coping with the present topics at school, revise work already undertaken in the past, and look at 'Past Papers' to aid general revision, practice exam techniques and build confidence. The standard of a pupil does not matter. I have tutored pupils who need help to get a 'C' grade at GCSE, and also those who are aiming at an 'A' or even an 'A*'.(or whatever the new 'numbers' are!) At the moment my CRB check has 'run out' and it is difficult to get a replacement when not working in a school. However, I never will tutor without another adult available in the tutor's home and I am making plans to get a replacementas soon as I can.
I have been working hard to keep up-to-date with the new syllabus and requirements from 2017. With limited past papers available. I have been analysing Examination Board's Sample New papers and started writing my own practice tests in the new style so we can have plenty of practice prior to the exams. Evidence is that all levels have become much more difficult and the highest levels are really testing. I have been working with a Year 10 girl on the challenging questions of the new level 9 and that has been enjoyable for us both.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Bristol (1972) - B. Ed (hons) in Mathematics and Education (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Torquay Maths tutor, Torquay Secondary Maths tutor, Torquay GCSE Maths tutor