Information About Gemma - West Byfleet tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Gemma's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Gemma:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Gemma (Ms)


Personal Description:

I hold a BA (Hons) in Geography from Cambridge University and have A Levels at grade A in Geography, History and Psychology and grade B in English Language and Literature. I taught overseas for several years and have been tutoring in London and Surrey for over three years whilst working full time for an educational charity. My job means I have a good understanding of the current educational landscape and policies, such as the recent reforms to GCSEs.

In my spare time I enjoy watching Formula 1, going to the cinema and visiting London’s many museums and eating in its great restaurants!

Please note - I live in Surrey but work in central London. Therefore I am available for tutoring during evenings and weekends in both these locations. I also offer lessons via Skpe.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring Geography and History in London and Surrry for over three years. I have experience of a wide variety of exam boards including OCR, Edexcel and the iGCSE. I have tutored students both short and long term and have seen an improvement in their exam results and their confidence.

After graduating Cambridge I spent a total of four years in Thailand. This included six months teaching English in government schools and over two years with a Burmese NGO where I taught Social Studies and Environment Studies.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a genuine passion for both History and, especially, Geography. I try to share and spread this enthusiasm in my tutor sessions as students learn more when the subject is made both interesting and relevant. Whilst I focus on exam technique and how to breakdown and answer the questions, I also want students to gain a real understanding of the subject. My lessons are always well planned and tailored to the individual needs of the student.

With many students increasing their confidence and self-belief is as vital to their success as furthering their subject knowledge. Therefore I like to take time to get to know the student and understand their specific issues and barriers. I like my first tutor session with a new student to be a chance for us to get to know each other and establish their goals so that we can make a plan together to achieve these.


  • Cambridge University (2005) - Geography BA (Hons) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • City of Stoke on Trent Sixth Form College (2001) - A Level Geography Grade A (College) (✔ On File)
  • City of Stoke on Trent Sixth Form College (2001) - A Level History Grade A (College) (✔ On File)
  • City of Stoke on Trent Sixth Form College (2001) - A Level Psychology Grade A (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: West Byfleet History tutor, West Byfleet Geography tutor, West Byfleet Primary History tutor, West Byfleet Secondary History tutor, West Byfleet GCSE History tutor, West Byfleet Primary Geography tutor, West Byfleet Secondary Geography tutor, West Byfleet GCSE Geography tutor, West Byfleet A-Level Geography tutor