Information About Gemma - Leominster tutor


This is how 2 referees rated Gemma:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £12.00
Secondary £12.00
GCSE £12.00
Casual Learner £12.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Secondary £12.00
GCSE £12.00
Casual Learner £12.00

Map Location

Map for Gemma (Miss)


Personal Description:

I am CELTA qualified and have a 2:1 BA (Hons) degree in English Language and English Language Teaching.

I completed my degree in 2014. During this time, I gained an in-depth understanding of the English language and achieved 1:1s in modules such as Phonetics and Phonology, Teaching English as a Foreign Language, Language and Society and Language and Criticism for Writers. My dissertation focused on child language acquisition with phonetics and behaviourism being the two main focus areas of my research.

I am very passionate about the English language and it is something which I have loved learning about since high school. I had a brilliant English teacher who inspired me to continue my studies in English once I left high school, and it is something I am very grateful for.

I believe that if you want to get the most out of your learning experience, lessons should be fun and engaging, and tailored to the student, which is something I would try to incorporate in my lessons where possible.

Outside of the academic world, I enjoy writing non-fiction stories, playing guitar, travelling to new countries and learning about new cultures, and cooking Asian food.

Tutoring Experience:

Although I don't have any paid experience when it comes to teaching English, I have had experience of teaching through my CELTA training, where there were up to 25 students per class. Not only did I complete my training hours, I also did extra hours in order to boost my experience and to develop my confidence. After this, I helped a couple of the students I had done my training with develop their grammar and punctuation skills on-and-off for a couple of weeks before they returned back to Spain.

I also have experience of helping people I met in India, whilst travelling, with their English. I am still in regular contact with one of them who often messages me with queries about how to teach tenses and various other grammatical topics to the local children in her village.

Tutoring Approach:

As I stated above, I believe learning should be fun and engaging. Most lessons can be tailored to the learner, which makes it much more interesting and relevant to them, and I believe it enables them to get the most out of the lesson.

I use a calm and sensitive approach to learning to encourage and promote a good learning experience. I ensure that all lessons include breaks when needed, and that the learner receives maximum support and encouragement to ensure that they remain positive and continue to develop in their learning.


  • Anglia Ruskin University (2014) - 2:1 BA (Hons) English Language and English Language Teaching (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Leominster English tutor, Leominster English (Foreign Language) tutor, Leominster Primary English tutor, Leominster Secondary English tutor, Leominster GCSE English tutor, Leominster Casual Learner English tutor, Leominster Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Leominster GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Leominster Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor