Skip to main content

Information About Gavin - Woking tutor

Profile Picture

Gavin's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Gavin:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Gavin offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a Maths Graduate and recently retired from the City at 50 to manage and 'launch' my 3 children. I am a naturally positive and enthusiastic person and that has always rubbed off on tutees and work colleagues alike. The most enjoyable part of my job as an FD was to employ, train/tutor and mentor school leavers and watch them very successfully advance their careers. I am based in Woking, Surrey and I am offering Maths tutoring, initially for GCSE and IGCSE, and subsequently ‘A’ level. My Mathematics background is Maths and Further Maths ‘A’ levels, both at Grade ‘A’ and a Mathematics degree from Exeter University. In the spirit of now giving back, I recently set up a charity with my brother and sister to tutor with all funds being used to support children’s charities. I am therefore tutoring for the love and not for the money. I will also consider an element of pro bono work.

Tutoring Experience:

I have the teaching gene - my brother and sister are both Head Teachers of outstanding schools. I have tutored my 3 children to successful results in IGCSE Maths and IGCSE Chemistry and have worked as a volunteer Maths tutor in London. I have recently successfully tutored stage 1 of the ICAEW Professional Accountancy examinations.

I have completed the IGCSE Edexcel Revision syllabus so am completely conversant with the syllabus. I am half way through the 'A; Level modules C1 to C4, S1 and M1. I have a lifetime of successfully passing academic and very demanding professional examinations and believe that experience is priceless when it comes to teaching how to study.

Tutoring Approach:

Tutoring Maths is about much more that teaching Maths. It is about energizing your tutee, boosting their confidence, bringing clarity to problems and teaching an understanding of Maths. It is about showing them how to study effectively and how to approach examinations.

In order to work as efficiently as possible, I would need to know what a tutee doesn't know. To that end, I would like to see, in advance of tutorials, questions which they have got wrong (you don't learn anything when you get questions right) and I would then be able to scope the lesson accordingly. From personal experience, I know how much can be achieved in a relatively short space of time.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • CIOT (1993) - CTA (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • ICAEW (1990) - ACA (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Exeter University (1985) - BSc (Hons) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Woking Maths tutor, Woking Secondary Maths tutor, Woking GCSE Maths tutor