Information About Gary - Street tutor

Profile Picture

Gary's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Gary:





Subjects Taught


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00£18.75


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00£18.75


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00£18.75
A-Level £25.00£18.75
University £25.00£18.75
Casual Learner £25.00£18.75

Combined Science

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00£18.75

Map Location

Map for Gary (Mr)


Personal Description:

I have worked as real-life field scientist all over the world, utilising my scientific training and applicable practical field experience to design and implement scientific field research, contribute to scientific publications and formulate my own PhD study. I have worked as a whale and dolphin scientist for the Cetacean Research and Rescue Unit for 10 years, where in conjunction with the research season I run residential field courses, accommodating and training over 80 students a year. I have successfully undertaken similar work in the USA and Asia with people of all ages and backgrounds.

I feel this gives me the unique ability to show you the real-world applications of your studies, which is essential in fully understanding the point and purpose of learning at GCSE and A-level and higher.

Tutoring Experience:

I have run residential field courses for ten years, teaching people from 58 countries with ages ranging from 16 - 80. This had a large classroom element, involving lectures, handouts and assignments. I also helped higher education students design and undertake Bachelors and Masters research projects.

I provided environmental education and science workshops for schools in the Philippines, designing the course material and teaching the students.

I helped run environmental education workshops with the RSPB, teaching scout groups, women's guilds and other social clubs with presentations and activities.

Tutoring Approach:

I am extremely patient, very personable and relaxed. I understand how to impart information in way that meets the needs of the student. I am very passionate about science and the natural world and have real life experience in the application of science. Both these attributes aid in conveying information greatly.

We can approach topics at a pace that suits your learning style but that still remains informative and progressive, breaking down concepts and topics into their basic form and then building back up to full understanding, making key notes and revision aids along the way. Examiners are looking for key phrases and words in exam question answers to exemplify understand. Therefore by practicing with past paper attempts and reviews we can build on the solid basis of understanding we have formed and ensure that you can present your knowledge correctly to gain the highest possible grade.


  • University of Portsmouth (2004) - Bsc (hons) Marine Biology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Strode College (2000) - A Level Biology (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Strode College (2000) - AS Level Environmental Science (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Crispin School (1998) - GCSE Double Science (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Street Physics tutor, Street Chemistry tutor, Street Biology tutor, Street Combined Science tutor, Street GCSE Physics tutor, Street GCSE Chemistry tutor, Street GCSE Biology tutor, Street A-Level Biology tutor, Street University Biology tutor, Street Casual Learner Biology tutor, Street GCSE Combined Science tutor