Gareth

Gareth

Skipton Tutor

I am a 56 year old married father of two and I left teaching in June 2018. I previously worked for 15 years as a civil engineer. I enjoy fell-walking, mountain-biking, D.I.Y., car maintenance, reading, live music and walking my 5 year old Labrador, Evie.

Tutoring Experience

I taught maths to pupils of all abilities and ages (year 7 to year 13) in a state secondary school for 12 years and resits at FE colleges for 3 years. At GCSE, I have experience of AQA and Edexcel in both linear and modular exam formats. At AS/A2 level, I can tutor Pure, Decision 1, Mechanics 1 & 2 and Statistics 1.

I am well aware of the topics pupils usually have difficulty with and I am used to using varied strategies and resources to achieve understanding and proficiency.

Tutoring Approach

I have a considerable amount experience of tutoring on a one to one basis at school and privately, having helped selected pupils make progress in the final year of their GCSE course. I enjoy being able to spend quality time getting to the heart of a student's misconceptions and then with some input, really "getting it".

Initial sessions will focus on identifying areas for improvement whilst subsequent ones will aim to bring the tutee to the required level of competence and confidence in their ability.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Bradford College2002PGCESecondary Mathematics

Gareth's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Gareth
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Maths
Secondary£30
GCSE£30
Casual Learner£30