Skip to main content

Information About Fraser - Peckham tutor

Profile Picture

Fraser's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Fraser:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00

Psychology

Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00
University £35.00

Philosophy / Critical Thinking

Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Fraser (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I believe that all students can do well if the material they are learning is made relevant to them, and they are encouraged to enjoy learning! I have always enjoyed learning, and passing on what I have learnt to others.

I am currently doing a PhD in psychiatric research at the Institute of Psychiatry, KCL. I am researching mental disorders during pregnancy and the postnatal period. I also work one day a week as an assistant psychologist in a psychiatric hospital. Last year I completed my research methods MSc at the same institution. My undergraduate degree was in Philosophy and Psychology at Oxford University.

I am a very friendly and engaged person. I care a lot about all of the work that I am involved in. To work in mental health research, you need to be academic, but at the same time be able to relate and empathise with all different kinds of people. I think that these skills I have serve well for tutoring too!

I am passionate about Science and I like to inspire that same passion and creativity about the subject in others.

Tutoring Experience:

Currently I am mainly tutoring A-level Psychology students, and helping some undergraduate and MSc students with coursework and research projects. I am also teaching on some modules of MSc courses at my university.

In 2014/2015 I tutored a number of A-level Psychology students. Including one student quite intensively as she was struggling with the subject, however she managed to get from a U to a B. I also tutored two students who needed help with the Quantitative Research Methods modules of their undergraduate degrees.

In 2013/2014 I tutored two students in GCSE Physics, Chemistry and Biology for the year before their exams.

Prior to this I have tutored two students in preparation for 11+ entrance examinations.

Other teaching experience includes teaching Psychology classes at a summer school for international students in Oxford, and teaching English as a foreign language in India.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a very warm and friendly approach to tutoring. One of the main benefits of getting one-on-one tutoring is to build confidence in the subject area. My tutees are made to feel comfortable enough to ask what they may think are silly questions, but also encouraged to explore and test out their own ideas and thoughts, which improves engagement with the subject. Most importantly, I try to make the subject interesting and relatable!

My approach to tutoring content is two-fold. First is to relate the material to what the student already knows, whether this be in the subject area or outside it. This means that complex ideas can be grasped quickly and effectively. Second is to elicit understanding from the student - get them to explain the material to me. This ensures that the student has understood in a deep enough way to communicate back the material, and the material will stay in their memory longer.

I am very flexible, and can adapt my tutoring style to the needs of the tutee, but also to their preferred way of working.

Qualifications:

  • King's College London (2017) - Currently undertaking this course (Doctorate) (in progress)
  • King's College London (2014) - Distinction Mental Health Services and Population Research (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Oxford (2012) - 2:1 Psychology, Philosophy and Physiology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Peckham Maths tutor, Peckham Physics tutor, Peckham Chemistry tutor, Peckham Biology tutor, Peckham Psychology tutor, Peckham Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Peckham Primary Maths tutor, Peckham GCSE Physics tutor, Peckham GCSE Chemistry tutor, Peckham GCSE Biology tutor, Peckham A-Level Psychology tutor, Peckham University Psychology tutor, Peckham A-Level Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor