Francis

Francis

I graduated from the University of Oxford, and am currently a Masters student at SOAS, University of London. I combine my studies with running an educational social enterprise, and tutoring. My Masters is in the intersection of religion with political philosophy, whilst at Oxford I studied Law before transferring to Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE). Prior to this, I received four A*s at A level (in English Literature, History, Government & Politics, and Philosophy & Ethics), and eleven A*s at GCSE. I enjoy playing music (the piano and the trombone) and sport, as well as reading, writing and travelling.

Tutoring Experience

I have experience tutoring at KS3, GCSE and A level, and teaching English as a foreign language. I also have experience of coaching students for university entry, particularly for Oxford and Cambridge, and more general academic mentoring/thinking skills development for gifted students.

I am currently employed part-time at QE school in Dorset, where I work with the 6th form on Russell Group and Oxbridge admissions as well as providing revision classes for A level English students.

I am the co-founder of a social enterprise that provides academic enrichment programmes and university admissions services to schools.

Tutoring Approach

Success requires energy and enthusiasm, and I will help students to approach their subjects in this manner. My ambition as a tutor is to help students to develop the tools necessary for success in their particular ambition, be it public examination or university admission. This will inevitably involve increased enjoyment of the subject in question. I define success broadly: as the achievement of the best grade of which that student is capable, and enjoying the journey to its attainment.

Students aiming for the highest grades and most prestigious universities need creativity and confidence in order to develop and express good arguments. Nurturing these qualities requires exposure to a wide range of challenging material and well-gauged encouragement.

I am happy to conduct tutoring sessions at my house in Tooting, or to travel to the student. However, for journey's over half an hour I levy a 5 pound charge on top of my tutoring rate to take account of expenses and time spent. This is in line with the policy of various tutoring agencies, and I hope that my students will understand!

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Oxford2016BachelorsPhilosophy, Politics & Economics

Francis's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Francis
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism