Skip to main content

Information About Florence - Peckham tutor -

Profile Picture

Florence's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Florence:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Psychology

Hourly Rate
University £30.00

Map Location

Map for Florence

Personal Description:

I am currently doing a PhD at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience, King's College London, where I am undertaking research into ADHD. I also completed my Masters in Social, Genetic, and Developmental Psychiatry here which I passed with Distinction. Prior to this I graduated with a first class undergraduate degree in Psychology (BSc) from the University of Sussex. During my time at Sussex I was awarded a Junior Research Associate Bursary and won the British Association for Psychopharmacology Undergraduate Award as a result of this work. I have a first author paper and am also co-author on several publications.

I am friendly, trustworthy, reliable, organised, and approachable. I am keen to help people reach their potential and create an enjoyable learning experience.

Tutoring Experience:

I currently teach first and second years on the undergraduate Psychology degree at King's College London. This involves leading seminar and practical groups and marking essay assignments. I have completed the 'Preparing to Teach in Higher Education' course. I have also been awarded Associate Fellow of the Higher Education Academy in recognition of my teaching.

Before starting my Masters and PhD I worked as a Teaching Support Assistant at a higher education college, supporting 16 - 20 years olds with disabilities in their classes.

Tutoring Approach:

I am flexible in my approach and keen to find the best way of structuring sessions for the most effective learning for the tutee. I am keen to focus on helping enhance skills and learning in the areas most important to the tutee, and to recommend strategies, in areas such as exam techniques, essay writing, and presentations. To succeed and achieve, hard work, organisation, and key skills and strategies are needed and I am keen to work with tutees to achieve this.

At the beginning I will establish with the tutee their goals and if I feel that I can help them achieve them, and set short-term and long-term targets. We will frequently discuss progression and key areas for improvement. I will challenge the student and help them to think critically in their studies.

I will also proof-read essays and dissertations and provide constructive feedback (rate dependent on amount of words and time).

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • King's College London (2015) - Social, Genetic and Developmental Psychiatry - Distinction (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Sussex (2013) - Psychology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Sussex Down's College, Lewes (2008) - A-Levels: Psychology (A), Biology (A), English Literature and Language (A) (College) (✔ On File)

Tags: Peckham Psychology tutor, Peckham University Psychology tutor