Skip to main content

Information About Fiona - Hull tutor

Profile Picture

Fiona's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Fiona:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Fiona offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

History

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

History Of Art

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Fiona (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a highly qualified, mature and experienced teacher of history and the history of art. I am absolutely passionate about my subject and have taught people of all ages, abilities and backgrounds. I have been in teaching for nearly twenty years.
I am also a mother of four, so I understand education from the perspective of a parent as well!
I love to visit art galleries, museums and places of historical interest. There is no period of History that I cannot teach!

Tutoring Experience:

I entered teaching in my capacity as a Postgraduate Researcher at Hull University, and continued to teach there for the next 13 years, completing numerous staff development training courses during that time. I was employed as a tutor in the Faculty of Arts & Humanities and in the Department of History, teaching on both full-time and part-time degree courses. I set up my own Certificate in Art History which I ran single-handedly for four years, as well as also running the Certificate in Country House Studies, a joint project between the University and the Burton Constable Foundation.

My duties as a teacher have included the writing and delivering series of lectures and seminars; the organising and running of field trips; the setting and marking of a range of assessments (including essays, exams, presentations, source analyses and various forms of creative assessment); the supervising, marking and second marking of dissertations and of Extended Project Qualifications; the setting up of VLE sites, and the fulfilling all of the associated administrative and pastoral duties. I regularly organised open days, summer schools, and numerous other outreach initiatives. I have mentored individual students who required additional study assistance, including dyslexia support, and students for whom English is not their first language.

My student feedback has been consistently excellent, and I contributed to the 100% grading in the National Student Survey which was achieved by my small team in the last two years of my employment there. In addition to my experience of undergraduate teaching and assessment, I have also worked as an ‘expert level’ examiner undertaking A-level and GCSE marking in History, Humanities, English and General Studies on behalf of the Edexcel examining body for the past ten years. I have also marked for the AQA exam board and have advised on the development of content for Edexcel.

I have been self employed as a freelance history teacher for the past three years, running my own history classes and workshops and working as a private tutor for local A level and GCSE students, as well as running art history trips abroad and in the UK. I have also continued to work one day a week as an editorial assistant for the prestigious academic journal ‘Social History’, which I have been involved with for the past four years. I have also taught A-level History at several local colleges.
I was the only student in my year to gain a first class degree; subsequently I was the only student on my MA course to receive a distinction. I have a full clean driving licence and a recent enhanced DBS certificate, and recently completed the ‘Prevent Strategy’ training online.

Tutoring Approach:

I have worked for exam boards for many years so I understand how exam papers are put together, and can guide students in the right direction in their revision. I also specialise in the structuring of essays and other coursework and can help students to enjoy writing and researching. Achievement and enjoyment should go hand in hand and I always focus on the needs of my students as individuals. Helping students to transition from GCSE to A level, and from A level to degree level, is also an area I feel to be important.

Qualifications:

  • Hull University (2000) - Historical Research (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Hull University (1997) - History with Art History (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Hull History tutor, Hull History Of Art tutor, Hull GCSE History tutor, Hull A-Level History tutor, Hull University History tutor, Hull Casual Learner History tutor, Hull GCSE History Of Art tutor, Hull A-Level History Of Art tutor, Hull University History Of Art tutor, Hull Casual Learner History Of Art tutor