Skip to main content

Information About Emma - Hebburn tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Emma's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Emma:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Psychology

Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Emma

Personal Description:

Hello, I'm Emma and I'm 28 years old. I live in South Tyneside. I've been qualified as a teacher since 2014 and I currently work in a sixth form at a secondary school in Gateshead.

I love animals. In my spare time I enjoy spending time with my kitten, Toby, and my parents' four dogs; visiting zoos; swimming; baking and planning elaborate holidays that I'll never be able to afford. I love live music and travelling.

In the last few years I have visited Australia, New Zealand, Thailand, Florida, New York, Vancouver, Calgary, and Toronto. Next on my list is Iceland, Norway, Italy and Japan (once I've saved up some money!)

Tutoring Experience:

I am in my third year of teaching A Level Psychology (AQA Specification) and have experience of working in both secondary school sixth forms and a sixth form college. I have taught a large number of students with differing ability levels. I am now currently teaching the new linear AS Level and also the 2nd year of the A Level - which is a brand new course for 2016.

I have experience in teaching/tutoring all year 12 content:
- Social Influence
- Memory
- Attachment
- Psychopathology
- Approaches
- Biopsychology
- Research Methods

For the year 13 topics, I have experience of teaching/tutoring:
- Research Methods
- Approaches
- Biopsychology
- Issues and Debates
- Forensic Psychology
- Relationships
- Eating Behaviour
- Gender
- Addiction
- Schizophrenia.

I am also able to tutor in the other optional topics (such as Cognition and Development or Stress), however I am more experienced in the topics listed above.

Tutoring Approach:

As a teacher I am dedicated and motivated. I have high expectations for all of my students and I am really passionate about seeing my students achieve their potential. I am happy to go above and beyond to really push the students who are working hard and trying their best to do well, but I can only go so far. I encourage my students to be independent in their learning as much as possible. The most successful students use their initiative to answer exam questions, re-draft work and create revision resources regularly throughout the year. My job is to encourage, support, and facilitate a love of the subject.

My approach to tutoring is to be as personalised as possible, depending on the student's needs. During the first session together we will go through the specification and identify areas for development, and discuss your expectations and requirements for the tutoring sessions. I will provide resources such as revision booklets and exam questions, as well as talking through the content and correcting any misunderstandings. I am happy to mark any essays or exam questions, and detailed feedback from assessments will be given regularly. We will work together to monitor your progress and ensure that you are achieving or even exceeding your potential.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Sunderland (2014) - PGCE in Post-Compulsory Education and Training (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Swansea University (2011) - BSc (hons) in Psychology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Hebburn Psychology tutor, Hebburn A-Level Psychology tutor