Information About Emma - Sheffield tutor

Profile Picture

Emma's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Emma:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00

Map Location

Map for Emma (Mrs)


Personal Description:

Hi. I'm passionate about languages and other cultures, enjoying film and literature from around the world. I am a highly experienced teacher with over ten years experience of teaching languages in Oxfordshire and Sheffield. I have always helped my students to achieve excellent results, and inspired many to continue to AS/A2 level. I have three children and love most of all to spend time with my family.

Tutoring Experience:

I have over ten years experience of teaching French up to GCSE and AS/A2 level, two years in Oxfordshire and nine years teaching at Tapton School in Sheffield.

I taught KS3 Spanish whilst at Tapton and am currently teaching Spanish in a Sheffield primary school to Years 3, 4 and 6.

Last year I tutored holiday French to an adult.

As part of my University course, I taught English in a French Secondary School. I then returned to France for a second year after University to teach English in a French University.

I have a PGCE from Nottingham University, and a Masters Level qualification in teaching French as a foreign language (Maîtrise FLE) from the University of Nancy 2 in France.

Tutoring Approach:

Children learn when their work is enjoyable, so I place a great emphasis on my lessons being interesting and fun. A challenge is essential and children need to be able to talk about what they're learning and how they're learning it too. I provide many opportunities in my lessons to talk about what has been learnt, challenge my students, and use this to look at the next steps for each individual child (or adult).

When teaching GCSE and AS/A2 students, to ensure exam success, it is essential to refer continually to the exam specification that they will be sitting. However, this has to be combined with an awareness of your student's individual strengths and weaknesses, and a knowledge of their preferred learning style.

With a fun approach that still challenges, lots of opportunities to talk about the learning, a constant awareness of the exam criteria and a thorough knowledge of the individuals that I teach; deep learning and a consolidation of prior learning occur successfully for each student.

I have excellent communication skills, many years experience of successful teaching and I will use these to help my students achieve their potential.


  • Nottingham University (1999) - Secondary Languages (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Nancy 2, France (1999) - 2:1 Equivalent Teaching French as a foreign language (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Nottingham University (1999) - Gained after achieving the double English-French teaching qualifications (QTS) (✘ Not On File)
  • Loughborough University (1997) - 2:1 French, Politics and Economics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Sheffield French tutor, Sheffield Spanish tutor, Sheffield Primary French tutor, Sheffield Secondary French tutor, Sheffield GCSE French tutor, Sheffield A-Level French tutor, Sheffield Casual Learner French tutor, Sheffield Primary Spanish tutor, Sheffield Secondary Spanish tutor