Skip to main content

Information About Emma - Eastbourne tutor -
(5 reviews)

Profile Picture

Emma's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Emma:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

History

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00

Map Location

Map for Emma (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a kind, approachable person with lots of experience.I currently work part-time in a senior school teaching English Language and Literature.I am very used to helping regular Year 10 and 11s prepare for exams and assessments and have seen grades go up considerably. Younger pupils who are struggling with language-based subjects including English need intervention as soon as possible. I work with children from age 9 upwards who may or may not be dyslexic or have other particular needs. I enjoy using multi-sensory and creative teaching methods to help keep them engaged and lodge details in their memory for longer! I have a degree in English plus a dyslexia teaching qualification and understand that many pupils needs a fun,approach to be able to learn. I have a great track record of getting GCSE Es up to Cs and even Bs. I believe I have a knack of enabling pupils to make tasks more manageable and to develop their confidence. I am passionate about the English language (and other languages) but also have a wide general knowledge and enjoy using this in my discussions. I feel that SEN teaching can help in all subjects as it addresses students who may have problems with memory, planning, fidgeting, slow processing, poor comprehension and low self-esteem.

Tutoring Experience:

I currently work one to one with students aged from 9 to 19, for both English Language and Literature. I gained an SEN qualification from Helen Arkell in July 2011 and I love it! They are all very different, but all have improved hugely over the past year I have seen them. I came to teaching 8 years ago having had a first career as a journalist and magazine editor, but I find teaching much more rewarding. I have taught PE and sport in three schools (one junior and two secondary) as I have several Sports Coaching Certificates. I also teach PILATES classes regularly in Eastbourne. PLEASE NOTE for teaching in your own home I request £5 on top of the fee for travel time and fuel.(Sometimes it can take 25 minutes to get to the outskirts of Eastbourne in the rush hour one way).

Tutoring Approach:

The key to getting the best out of a student is developing trust and so I begin by making them feel at ease. I am not wanting to make them feel silly or lacking ever. I am genuinely interested in what they think and I am sure they have something to contribute. Many students find English Language particularly difficult as they have not been taught a foundation in it earlier. This of course also makes appreciating literature much more challenging. I try and make my lessons fun which means they are creative, but equally I give students a firm and clear structure they can understand. As their confidence builds they begin to see the improvement in their results.

Qualifications:

  • Helen Arkell Dyslexia Centre (2011) - SEN/Dyslexia Teaching Certificate (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Leeds University (1989) - BA Honours in English (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Eastbourne English tutor, Eastbourne French tutor, Eastbourne History tutor, Eastbourne Primary English tutor, Eastbourne Secondary English tutor, Eastbourne GCSE English tutor, Eastbourne Primary French tutor, Eastbourne Primary History tutor, Eastbourne Secondary History tutor