Skip to main content

Information About Emma - Leeds tutor -

Profile Picture

Emma's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Emma:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Emma offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Biology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £40.00

PE / Sport Science

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £30.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Map Location

Map for Emma

Personal Description:

Hello, I am Emma. I am currently working as a Research Associate at the University of Manchester, but living and tutoring in the Leeds area.

I have a 1st Class degree in Sports Science and Physiology from the University of Leeds (2012) and a PhD in Cardiovascular Medicine from the University of Manchester (2016). My full time job centres around understanding how the heart works, and advancing new ways treat heart disease, so have a thorough understanding of human physiology, biology and biochemistry to share with any tutees!

Tutoring Experience:

Five years one-on-one tutoring experience:
Over the last five years I have been involved in the University of Manchester access program, where I have been responsible for the one-on-one tuition of A-level students applying to a variety of courses at the University. This has provided me with ample tutoring experience and taught me the importance of planning sessions tailored to the individuals needs. All of my students have successfully completed the program and successfully advanced into higher education.

Formal teaching qualifications:
In 2016 I was awarded an Associate Fellowship with the Higher Education Academy, in recognition of my teaching contributions within higher education (undergraduate/University level and above).

Additional Teaching experience:
In my job as a research associate I am responsible for teaching/ co-supervising a number of undergraduate, masters and PhD students within the lab. In this context I am responsible for providing day-to-day guidance, reading and marking coursework and explaining advanced and complicated procedures in simple terms appropriate to the students level of understanding. This experience enables me to constantly advance my teaching practices, which is something I am able to apply during my tutoring sessions.
Additionally, during my my own time as a student I worked part-time as a tennis coach, coaching children from age 2-18. This role provided me with valuable experience of working with children and teenagers and has ultimately taught me that students learn much more effectively when they find a subject fun and interesting! I hope that by keeping tutees excited about and engaged with what they are learning I can help them achieve their goals more easily.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a friendly and approachable tutor who can work flexibly with you to help achieve your goals. From experience I believe that having a set target or goal to work towards enables more effective learning so for each tutor session I like to have a set aim or objective. These can be set over individual or multiple sessions.

Finally, I value to importance of having a good tutor-tutee relationship! Often discussion and engagement from both parties is the key understanding.

I am available for sessions on weekday evenings or weekends so please contact me if you are interested.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Manchester (2016) - PhD Medicine (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • University of Leeds (2012) - Sports Science and Physiology BSc (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Leeds Biology tutor, Leeds PE / Sport Science tutor, Leeds GCSE Biology tutor, Leeds A-Level Biology tutor, Leeds University Biology tutor, Leeds Casual Learner Biology tutor, Leeds GCSE PE / Sport Science tutor, Leeds A-Level PE / Sport Science tutor, Leeds University PE / Sport Science tutor, Leeds Casual Learner PE / Sport Science tutor