Information About Emma - Leicester tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Emma's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Emma:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Map Location

Map for Emma (Miss)


Personal Description:

My name is Emma, and I have spent the last year working as both a private tutor in a range of subjects and ages, and also as a full time carer in a Residential home for the elderly. I am very proud to say that the students I taught in the last year all improved their grades exponentially and they are happy to be in contact with you to discuss my teaching and approach to tutoring. I have just started a graduate entry Medicine degree at the University of Leicester. I graduated from Biomedical Science at the University of Sheffield in 2013. I am passionate about good education and believe everybody can improve their grades with patience and hard work! I am a friendly and approachable person meaning you will not feel afraid to ask questions- which is the best way to learn! In my spare time I write for an online science magazine and am a keen runner. I love to travel, and have spent time in Thailand, Morocco and across much of Europe. In the summer of 2012 I worked as an au pair in Italy where I taught two young children English.

Tutoring Experience:

I have now worked for a year as a private tutor in my home town of Solihull. I had a range of students aged 9-16 and was very proud of the achievements they made. Every student I taught achieved at least a C in there GSCE with two students improving their grades from E to B in a year. As well as my experience as a tutor and an au pair, I have worked as a swimming instructor at my local leisure centre. Whilst at school I mentored younger students in maths and english, and then when I moved to university I took an active part in a mentoring scheme which was aimed at helping new students settle in and with any academic struggles they were having. I have also spent a lot of time helping younger family members with revision and school work. As you can see my prices are very reasonable. This is not because the standard is any lower, but simply because I think education should be affordable, and the prices varies with each level to accommodate the planning time involved for each stage.

Tutoring Approach:

I am a strong believer in encouragement over criticism and will get noticeably improved results in just a few sessions simply by taking a patient and positive approach to learning. I would recommend at least one tutoring session a week, and will then set a piece of work to do during the week to cement what has been learnt permanently. I will be available via text or email any day if you have a problem- I encourage a lot a questions, as it challenges you to really understand!! Practise practise practise and your grades will improve! We will have a free 30 min face to face chat to discuss what you want to improve on, and I can tell you about how I think we should go about it. Then if you get on with me and like my style we can go on to start learning!


  • University of Sheffield (2013) - 2.1 (Hons) Biomedical Science (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • King Edwards Camp Hill (2009) - A Levels (3 Bs) (Biology, Chemistry, Maths) (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • King Edwards Camp Hill (2007) - GCSE (7As* 6As) (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Leicester Maths tutor, Leicester Primary Maths tutor, Leicester Secondary Maths tutor, Leicester GCSE Maths tutor