Emily

Emily

Barnsbury Tutor

I am a friendly, committed and patient tutor passionate about languages and cultures. I studied Modern Languages (French and Spanish) to degree level at the University of Exeter, and I spent my third academic year 2010-2011 abroad in Andalucía, Spain. I have also lived and worked in France, Switzerland and have travelled around Spain and France.

Tutoring Experience

I am currently Head of French in a school in North London. I teach French and Spanish from ages 11-16 (years 7 to 11) and therefore have good knowledge of the English National Curriculum including GCSE specifications. I have been graded 'outstanding' in my lesson observations.

I have also worked as an English tutor to students of all ages and levels, including children, teenagers and adult professionals. I hold a CELTA qualification (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) from International House London. A considerable proportion of the course consisted of teaching practice with students of English and it equipped me to thoroughly plan lessons, including anticipating problems, to adapt lessons from coursebooks as necessary and to incorporate activities to suit different learners (visual, audio, kinaesthetic). I was awarded a 'Pass B' grade, with particular strengths identified in planning and resourcing for different teaching contexts, and helping learners develop language skills.

In Summer 2011 I worked as an English language mentor au-pair for three teenage French children aged 16, 14, and 12. My role was to improve the children's fluency in speaking, writing and grammar. I did this through conversation, preparing exercises, reading from novels and also everyday magazines, and writing and translation pratice. I also aimed to back up concepts learnt through everyday examples of errors and misunderstandings encountered in conversation, with related grammatical exercises where necessary.

Tutoring Approach

I am flexible in my approach to tutoring and look to work with the needs of the student to tailor the sessions to particular requests or learning styles- please get in touch if you have any queries!

LanguagesEnglish (British), French, German, Spanish
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

The University of Exeter2012BachelorsBA French and Spanish- 2.1
International House London2012ProfessionalCELTA (Teaching English as a Foreign Language)- Pass B
Maiden Erlegh School, Reading2008School4 A2 Levels- French (A), German (A), English Literature (A), Biology (A)
The Institute of Education 2013PGCEModern Foreign Languages

Emily's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Emily
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
English
Primary£35
Secondary£35
GCSE£35
A-Level£45
University£45
Casual Learner£40
French
Primary£35
Secondary£35
GCSE£35
A-Level£45
University£45
Casual Learner£40
Spanish
Primary£35
Secondary£35
GCSE£35
A-Level£45
University£45
Casual Learner£40
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£35
Secondary£35
GCSE£35
A-Level£40
University£45
Casual Learner£40